Download - idealaunch - Content Marketing Webinar August 2009

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Page 1: idealaunch - Content Marketing Webinar August 2009

Content MarketingWebinar

Byron White

Founder

ideaLaunch.com, Inc.

August 26, 1 PM EST

What is content marketing?

How is it different?

How can I get started?

How do I track the ROI?

What’s the right mix?

What are the secret tips?

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What is content marketing?

How is itdifferent?

How can I getstarted fast?

How do I track the ROI?

What’s the new content asset portfolio?

What are thesecret tips?

Content Marketing Webinar

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What is content marketing?

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It’s the art of listening to your customers’ wants and needs.Listen Up

Search Box

Social Media

Web Analytics

Keyword Popularity

Customer Service

Questionnaires

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And the science of delivering it to them in a compelling way.Content Assets

Articles

Tips and Advice

Webinars

Workbooks

Widgets

Live Support

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It’s constantly testing campaigns to learn what works and what doesn’t. Prediction Testing

A/B Testing

Multivariate Testing

Eye Track Testing

Segmentation Testing

Geo Target Testing

Usability Testing

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And measuring readers’ engagement and desire for more along the way.Engage Readers

Downloads

Time on Page

Action on Page

Repeat Visitation

Send to Friend

Social Bookmark

Tell a Friend

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It’s catching readers that travel at high speeds at the right time and place.Anytime Content

Desktop

Applet

Mobile

RSS Feeds

Podcasts

Social Networks

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And delivering insight with apps that earn trust and drive sales.

iPhone Apps

Urban Spoon

Amazon Kindle

Sirius XM

SalesForce.com

Flixter

Fandango

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It’s a smarter pipeline to find the hot leads that drive sales and revenue.

The New Pipeline

Offer Content

Accumulate Leads

Score Leads

Distribute Leads

Induce Trial

Score New Activity

Measure Success

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And it delivers the ROI you demand for your investment.

ROI Measurement

Readers

Conversations

Community

Conversion

Sales

Repeat Sales

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How is content marketing different?

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Traditional marketing pushes sales messages, offers and deals out.

Traditional Media

Direct Mail

Print Advertising

Trade Shows

Banner Ads

Radio Spots

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Content marketing pushes content out that people want and need.

Content Marketing Assets

Webinars

Whitepapers

Workbooks

Widgets

Articles

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Traditional marketing talks at people to drive sales and growth.

We’re #1

Best Price

Best Products

Best Features

Best Value

Best Technology

Best Service

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Content marketing talks with customers, providing answers to questions.

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Traditional marketing puts the company at the center, not the customer.

Traditional Marketing

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Content marketing puts the customer at the center, not the company.

Content Marketing

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Traditional marketing interrupts customers with info they may not want.

No-Permission Marketing

Cold Calls

Telemarketing

Pop-Up Banners

Run-Of-Site Ads

Spam Email

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Content marketing offers info that makes life better, smarter and wiser.

Info Earns Trust

Pub Articles

Shortcuts

Answers

Well-Told Stories

Distinction

Fast Solutions

Simplicity

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What’s the new content asset portfolio and what’s the right mix?

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Articles translate your expertise and establish the credibility you need.

Put Articles to Work

Drive Long Tail Traffic

Knowledge Centers

FAQ Sections

Article Submissions

Build Internal Links for SEO

Create for Industry Journals

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On-demand printed books are revolutionary and make you THE authority.

New Age Publishing

On-Demand Printing

ISBN Authority

Authority Validation

Speaking Gateway

SEO Secrets

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Video content may become the mainstream for marketing.Site, Sound and Motion Tips

Find Thought Topics

Hollywood Production NOT

Mystery Must Unfold

Great Storyteller Required

Set Entertainment Expectation

Learn to Unfold the Story

What Happens Next?

Freelance Video Artists

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Informational eBooks catch readers on the fly and motivate the sale.

EBook Application

Lead Generation

Sales Motivation

Search Listings

SEO Value(Links)

Easily Passed Around

Brand Building

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Microsites offer specific topic focus and solutions, without the distractions.

Microsites to the Rescue

Focused Audience

Fantastic Testing Platform

Learn What Works Quickly

Talk the Talk for Success

Build Community Fast

Inspire Conversations

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Short, sharp, content rich webinars turn browsers into believers and buyers.Webinar Tips for Success

Select Hot Theme

Need-to-Know Knowledge

Introduce New Ideas

Challenge Old Methods

3 Weeks. 1 Week. 1 Day.

Business Changing Ideas

Efficiency Enlightenment

What Will Happen if Attending?

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The projections for podcast downloads make this media exciting.

Internet Users Audience

9% 2008

11% 2009

13% 20010

14.5% 2011

15% 2012

17% 2013

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Reach communities of knowledge seekers with slidedeck presentations.

Slidedeck Portals

SlideRocket.com

SlideShare.net

SlideServe.com

PPTExchange.com

SlideLive.com

AuthorStream.com

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Case studies build your case to show exactly how your services help.

The Case for Case Studies

Someone Like Me

Predict My Future

Find Similarities to Me

Compare Them to Me

Earn My Trust

Please Do This for Me

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Appeal to readers and search engines with a Tip and Advice Center.Tips for Tip Centers

Remove Ads

Remove Product Links

Remove Service Pitches

Optimize Long Tail

Build in Mouse Trap

Measure Conversions

Build Internal Links

Think SEO + Readers

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The content marketing revolution began with white papers. Go retro!

Spice Up This Legend

Add Fresh Twist

Establish Expertise

Make Understandable

Infuse Personality

Showcase Insight

Solve Problems

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How do I track the ROI of content marketing?

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ROI Tracking #1: Landing Page Testing“If you’re not testing your landing pages, you’re living in the dinosaur age. The technology is free. The methods are easy.”

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ROI Tracking #1: Landing Page Testing “Reader action determines which headlines, copy and graphics convert best.”

Improve Conversion Rates

Test Copy

Test Graphics

Test Images

A/B Testing

Multivariate Testing

Google Website Optimizer

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ROI Tracking #2: Organic Listings “Measure content marketing success with improved listing positions in the search engines”

Steps for Tracking Success

Establish Keyword Universe

Establish Priority Keywords

Deploy Content Assets

Track Listing Improvement

Tie Content to Improvements

Find Trends and Correlation

Build on Momentum

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ROI Tracking #2: Organic Listings “Tie in improved listing position with specific content assets and deployment date of those assets.”

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ROI Tracking #3: Organic Traffic“Tie in your improved listing positions with web traffic increases using web analytics resources.”

Steps for Tracking Success

Establish Baseline Traffic

Establish Keyword Source

Deploy Content Assets

Track Traffic Improvement

Tie Traffic to Content

Find Trends and Correlation

Build on Momentum

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ROI Tracking #3: Organic Traffic“Then, tie in organic traffic increases to content asset deployment dates for exact impact measurement.”

Measure Asset Impact

Identify Keywords with Improvement

Find Content Assets

Examine Deployment Dates

Examine Internal Link Strategy

Examine Optimization of Pages

Conclude Impact Measurement

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ROI Tracking #3: Organic Traffic “Document repeat visitation to your website and time spent on site for content-rich pages featuring new content assets.”

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ROI Tracking #4: User Acquisition Cost“Calculate the before and after user acquisition cost to measure the ROI of content marketing.”

Monthly Advertising Cost ÷ Monthly Sign Ups = Monthly User Acquisition Cost

$10,000 ÷ 250 Sign Ups = $40 User Acquisition Cost

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Summary of ROI Tracking“Measure the ROI of content marketing you demand a variety of ways with readily available tools and resources.”

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Secret tips and advice for content marketing success

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Build internal and external links to your website, which are essential for success.

Tips on Link Building

Be Worthy of Natural Links

Architect Internal Links

Best Practice Link Methods

Support Link Page SEO

Byron’s Big Beef Example

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Gauge social media success with conversations, not the number of followers.

Tips on Conversation

Compliment Often

Complicate Seldom

Introduce Like Thoughts

Introduce Like Minds

Discuss the Cool Stuff

Leverage Opportunity

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Pinpoint your success in solving customers’ wants and needs.

Building on Success

Discover Needs

Discover Wants

Create Content

Get Feedback

Revise Accordingly

Discover Betterment

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Build your case for authority status in your industry in creative ways. Authority Builders

Speaking Events

White Papers

Webinars

Podcasts

Books

EBooks

Guides

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Discover what you see that your competition might not see. Progress Leads with Knowledge

Find Your Unique Value

Uncover the Undiscovered

Dig for Keen Insight

Shed New Light

Offer the Inside Scoop

Raise Awareness

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Find the essentially contested concepts and share your insights.

Conversational Marketing

Follow the Thought Leaders

Find Topics to Debate

Bring Wisdom to Dance

Contribute to Communities

Earn Your Credibility

Put Great Ideas to Work

On Topic Most of the Time

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Tune in to relevant social media conversations going on and jump in.Social Research Tools

Search.Twitter.com

Facebook.com/lexicon/

ThunderThimble.com

TechRigy.com

BlogSearch.Google.com

BlogPulse.com

IceRocket.com

Delicious.com

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How can I jumpstart content marketing fast?

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Start identifying your customers’ needs and wants in creative ways.Creative Research Ideas

Website Search Box

Social Media Sphere

Talk and Listen

Surveys and Polls

Customers’ Needs

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Hire great writers that know how to get under the skin of the reader.

Great Writer Characteristics

Inhabit the Target Audience

Build Credibility with Readers

Contagious Writing Style

Offer Surprise and Mystery

Practice Writing Haiku

Find New Value and Meaning

Embrace Testing Methods

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Identify the low-lying fruit to improve listings positions and traffic.

SEO Keyword Priority

Trend Report

Positions 10 to 50

Search Volume

PPC Price

Golden Keywords

Create Content

Create Internal Links

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Buy tools that help identify what’s hot and what’s not on the web.

Popular SEO Tools

WordVision.com

SpyFu.com

GoodKeywords.com

KeywordDiscovery.com

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Free tools to optimize content for readers and the search engines quickly.

Free SEO Tools and Tips

PageStrengthTool.com

SEOContentGrader.com

Google.com

WebsiteGrader.com

Raven-SEO-Tools.com

Tools.SEOBook.com

SEOToolSet.com

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Create Great Content

Byron White, ideaLaunch

Chief Idea Officer

Blog: ideaLaunch.com/Blog

Twitter: @ByronWhite

Facebook: ByronWhite

[email protected]

Phone: 617-227-8800 x 201

Cell: 617-775-5828