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The Red-headed Stepchild of B2B PPC
AJ Wilcox
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About AJ Wilcox•8 years of PPC and SEO experience•Began heavy B2B focus 4 years ago•Stumbled onto LinkedIn Ads•Saw awesome successes•Quit my full-time job to start B2Linked.com•Live in Utah, USA with my wife and ~4 kids•Triathlete, exotic car lover, soulless ginger
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B2B Challenges• B2B marketers have to be more
sophisticated• Offline conversion events on delayed
sales cycles• Gives rise to #PipelineMarketing• eCommerce analysis much simpler
• 72% of the Fortune 1000 are B2B
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#PipelineMarketing
• My data journey• Make optimization decisions based on
real results• Return On Ad Spend is the real metric
• $/Opportunity can by used as surrogate• $/SAL can be used on insufficient Opportunity data• Etc.
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Keyword Targeting is…
• Paid Search (Google Adwords/Bing Ads) keyword-based targeting• Intent-based• CEOs type the same keywords as janitors
• How do you ensure your dollars are spent on someone with BANT?• Budget• Authority• Need• Timing
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B2B Ad Options• Industry Publications
• Advertise in industry rags (ChiefExecutive magazine)• AdTech Vendors
• Bizo• Quantcast• DemandBase
• Paid Social• Twitter – Weak B2B targeting• Facebook – Decent B2B targeting, personal focus• LinkedIn – precise targeting, business focus
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LinkedIn Advertising• Up to date (self selected)• Robust targeting• Near-unlimited traffic• Business mentality• Self-service
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LinkedIn AdWords
Account
Campaign
Ads
Campaign
Ads Ads
Campaign
Adgroup
Adgroup
Keywords
Ads Keywords
Account
MCC
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LinkedIn Ads 101• Go to: LinkedIn.com/Ads• Average CPC between $5-$8/click• CPM or CPC Bidding• Auction based on audience
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d• Ad Units• Text Ads – Right rail
• 50x50px image• .04% CTR is good• 25 char headline• 75 char adline
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d• Ad Units• Sponsored Updates – News feed
• 180x110px image• .4% CTR is good• Character limits
• 150 char intro• 55 char title• 155 char description
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d• Targeting (profile completeness dependent)
• Job Title (Project Manager)• Job Function (Marketing)• Seniority (Manager)• Company Name (Microsoft)• Category/Industry (Hi-tech, consumer goods)• School Name (Stanford)• Skills (nunchuck, MySQL)• Group (Project Management R Us)• Gender (M/F/Both)• Age (55+)• Company Size (51-2000)• Geography (San Francisco Bay Area)• In any combination• & Exclusions!
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LinkedIn Ads 101 cont’d• 4 Methods of Targeting
• Titles• Job Function + Seniority• Skills + Seniority• Groups (+ Seniority)
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CMO
Groups
Job Functio
n
Titles
Skills
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Why the Red-Headed Stepchild?
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Why the Red-Headed Stepchild?• Lacking functionality• Conversion Tracking• Dayparting• Hourly Reporting• Device Bidding• Retargeting• Opaque Relevancy Score• Ignored by LinkedIn
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LinkedIn Wins• Conversion Rates• Business Reach• Mindset• Deal Size• No Gatekeeper
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Let’s say…• You’re running 2 ads. • A has a CTR of .61% and a CPA of $48• B has a CTR of .40% and a CPA of $41
Which ad is better?
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Content Marketing Funnel
Trial/Demo
Blog Post/Infographic
Guide / Whitepaper
Ebook
Webinar
Low Friction
High Friction
Retargeting
Email Nurture
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Glorious Retargeting• Paid Search retargeting = Building
audience around keyword• LinkedIn retargeting = Building persona!• Deliver content tests to your ideal audience• At a fraction of the price of LinkedIn
advertising• UTM parameter tagging allows for
separate audiences in GA
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