The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement
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Transcript of The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement
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The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement
Starting Soon
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The Real Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on Customer Engagement
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ABOUT NETELIXIR UNIVERSITY
NetElixir University was launched in 2012 with a vision of “democratizing the
digital marketing industry through exceptional knowledge and expertise
sharing.”
Our goal is to share the best practices in retail + digital marketing with 10,000
businesses worldwide by 2015.
NetElixir University
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CREATIVITY + ANALYTICS
September 23
Grounds for Sculpture
Abes Market
Advance Auto Parts
Alex and Ani
American Frame
Ann Inc.
Blindsgalore
Brady Corp
Burlington Coat Factory
Christie's Auction House
Cornell University
Deb Shops, Inc
Farmers
NY & Co.
PaperStyle
Positive Promotions
Randa Accessories
RedCats
Reed & Barton
Reeds Jewelers
ReNew Life
Sleepy's
Steven Singer Jewelers
Ulla Popken
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ABOUT UDAYAN BOSE
• Founder & CEO, NetElixir.
• Founded PartyBingo.com (PartyGaming, Plc).
• Guest Lecturer:
• Johnson School of Management, Cornell
University.
• City University of New York, Baruch.
• Indian School of Business.
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ABOUT DON RODRIGUEZ
• Over 20 years experience as a Marketing
Executive with companies like Dell and Accenture.
• Don teaches marketing classes in Rutgers
University’s MBA program..
• His belief that marketing is all about the math
stems from his first professional career as an
electrical engineer.
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Quantifying The Impact of a Mobile-Friendly Site on User Engagement
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QUANTIFYING THE IMPACT OF A MOBILE-
FRIENDLY SITE ON USER ENGAGEMENT
• Hypothesis: A mobile-friendly experience improves
conversion rates of mobile visitors.
• Assumption: The same principles of user experience
that lift conversion rates of desktop browsers apply to
non-desktop browsers.
• Methodology: Aggregated analysis of traffic,
conversions and revenue for a sample of sites that
includes mobile-friendly and non-mobile friendly user
experiences.
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METHODOLOGY
• Test Period : Q2 2014 vs Q2 2013.
• Data Set:
− 180MM+ user sessions from sample of 53 NetElixir clients.
− Mobile advertising data from 100% of NetElixir client base.
− Competitive user experience on 100% of NetElixir client base.
• Mobile-friendly experience is defined as having a dedicated mobile site,
e.g. m.domain.com or a responsive or adaptive design.
• Testing of all site experiences was done manually with an Android
phone
• Averages were computed and normalized on a site by site basis
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MOBILE CONVERSION RATE INDEX
• Mobile Conversion Rate Index =
• Example − Mobile Conversion = 2.02%
− All Traffic Conversion = 4.04%
− Mobile Conversion Rate Index = 2.02/4.04 X 100 = 50
𝑚𝑜𝑏𝑖𝑙𝑒 𝑡𝑟𝑎𝑓𝑓𝑖𝑐 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒
𝑡𝑟𝑎𝑓𝑓𝑖𝑐 𝑐𝑜𝑛𝑣𝑒𝑟𝑠𝑖𝑜𝑛 𝑟𝑎𝑡𝑒× 100
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RESEARCH FINDINGS – ALL TRAFFIC
Mobile
Conversion
Rate Index 60
Mobile AOV /
Desktop AOV 102%
Mobile Traffic
Growth 37%
Mobile Traffic
Share 8%
Mobile
Conversion
Rate Index 23
Mobile AOV /
Desktop AOV 70%
Mobile Traffic
Growth 53%
Mobile Traffic
Share 20%
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RESEARCH FINDINGS – PPC TRAFFIC
Mobile
Conversion
Rate Index 74
Mobile AOV /
Desktop AOV 116%
Mobile Traffic
Growth 62%
Mobile Traffic
Share 15%
Mobile
Conversion
Rate Index 27
Mobile AOV /
Desktop AOV 62%
Mobile Traffic
Growth 56%
Mobile Traffic
Share 15%
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TOP 10 REASONS TO CONSIDER MOBILE
SEARCH ADS
1. Conversion Rates are significantly higher regardless of mobile user experience
2. 77% of all mobile searches are in locations with a PC nearby
3. 83% of people who do mobile searches in their home cite speed & convenience
as primary reason for doing so.
4. 20% of mobile search queries are product focused
5. 17% of mobile searches result in a purchase
6. Shopping mobile queries are 2.14x more likely to occur inside a store
7. 49% of mobile searches lead to direct interaction with a retailer (site, store or
phone)
8. 45% of mobile searches are conducted to make a decision
9. 48% of mobile users considering a purchase start with a search
engine query; 74% say they used at least one search engine query
10. 76% of mobile searches occur after lunch, 40% occur after dinner
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WHAT ARE YOUR MOBILE TRAFFIC TRENDS?
CAN YOU GET THERE FOR Q4?
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MOBILE SITE VS MOBILE APP
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NOT AN “IF” QUESTION, IT’S A “WHEN”
QUESTION
1. Understand and quantify the mobile behavior
of your audience and your competitive set.
2. Conversion Rate and AOV should improve
with a mobile friendly site.
3. Mobile search advertising has value for
advertisers not using it regardless of your site
experience.
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MOBILE TRAFFIC WHITEPAPER
• Download the full paper
at www.netelixir.com/mobilewp.pdf
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{
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Appendix
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http://ssl.gstatic.com/think/docs/creati
ng-moments-that-matter_research-
studies.pdf
http://ssl.gstatic.com/think/docs/mobile-
path-to-purchase-5-key-
findings_research-studies.pdf
Additional Sources
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http://developer.skava.com/calculator/Skava/