DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.
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Transcript of DAY CAMP Today’s Quick Win: Optimizing an AdWords Account.
DAY CAMPToday’s Quick Win:
Optimizing an AdWords Account
Meet our guests!
@fortinDrew Fortin
Marketing Manager
@cunninghamkellyKelly CunninghamInbound Marketing
Consultant
@briggsnhMike BriggsVP Search at
Website Publicity Group
5 Week Paid Search Webinar Series
• 7/13 | Intro to Paid Search• 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Account• 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editor• 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimization• 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)
Housekeeping
A recording of today’s webinar, as well as the following resources will be posted to camp.hubspot.com:
1. Intro To Paid Search In 30 Minutes blog post on camp.hubspot.com/blog
2. Paid Search Resources and Education
Today’s Goal & Agenda
GOAL: Give you the tools and knowledge to optimize your AdWords account, in 30 minutes
AGENDA: For the next 30 minutes, we will walk you through the following items:
• How to track success in AdWords.• How to
• Spend less money, • Convert more leads, • Be more successful in AdWords
• Optimization basics, bidding basics, and analysis in AdWords
Last Week We Covered…
How to create and modify campaigns in AdWords Editor
How to work offline, share accounts, and post changes
How to save your time in your limited work day!
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Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Optimization is not
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Set itAnd
Forget it
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Optimizing Ad Delivery
Google prizes relevance above all else, “Quality Score” (QS)
QS is a measure of relevance• Keyword to ad text• Keyword to landing page• Landing page load time• Keyword historic Click Through Rate (CTR)• Advertiser’s specific keyword CTR
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Why does QS matter??
Quality score affects how your bid is used
Higher QS means lower CPC for better position
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𝐴𝑑𝑅𝑎𝑛𝑘=𝑄𝑆∗𝑀𝑎𝑥𝐶𝑃𝐶
Where do you find QS?
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What to do with low QS
QS 7+• Good
QS 4-6• Subtly improve ad text• Keep monitoring
QS 1-3• Refine keyword groupings• Better ad text, keywords in ads• Relevant landing pages
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Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:
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Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:
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Refine Search Traffic
Examine actual search queries:• Add any phrases that are relevant• Add negatives to campaign if off-target• Look for new ad group opportunities
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Search terms in action
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Added keywords
“Made in USA”, new ad group
Wrong Brand, add as negative
Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Identify Good & Poor Converters
Ensure Google Conversions are active• Create and tag• Or import from Analytics
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Set goals and analyze
Set a Cost per Action (CPA) you are willing to pay
Enable column in AdWords
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CPA =
Value of customer * lead to customer ratio
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Analyze successes
User filters to find ad groups and/or keywords < CPA
Increase these bids proportionally
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Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Be Analytical
Calculate your Max CPC based on history:
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Willing to pay $25 per actionConversion rate 10%
$25 * 0.10 = $2.50 Max CPC
Adjust Bidding
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14% conv rate * $25 CPA = $3.50
Max CPC
AdWords Editor Can Help
Show statistics
Filter
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Ready to Export to Excel
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Consider CPA bidding
Once you have 15 conversions in 30 days, eligible for CPA bidding
Great for Display (Content) Network
On Settings tab:
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Dimensions tab
Looks for ways to segment and save
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Day-parting Weekdays
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Day-parting hours
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Optimizing is a process
Optimize Ad Delivery
Refine Search Traffic
Identify Good & Poor Converters
Adjust Bidding
Implement Optimization
Program
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Implement an Optimization Program
Frequency Tasks
Daily • Check budgets, ensure high converters fully funded
• Look for keywords below first page bid
Weekly • Analyze and adjust bids• Assess Quality Score• Review Search Queries
Monthly • Run Ad Diagnostics• Review 0 converting low volume
keywords
Quarterly • Revisit Keyword Research• Review Opportunities Tab
Periodically • Check Day-parts• Geographic Success• Demographics• Explore Google reports and tools• Device conversions
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Marketing Take Away
Optimization is a cycle, not a single task
Start with ensuring good ad delivery, then improve performance
Get on a schedule and keep on top of account
If you lag behind, outsource help?
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Next Day Camp Sessions
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o 7/13 | Intro to Paid Searcho 7/20 | How to set up a Google AdWords Accounto 7/27 | Campaign Management w/ AdWords Editoro 8/2 | Performance Metrics & Optimizationo 8/10 | Advanced Tactics (Q&A Panel)