Social Media Half Day Workshop SSWBN
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Transcript of Social Media Half Day Workshop SSWBN
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How to Use Social Media to Market Your Business
Presented by:Donna Mavromates, Wicked Simple Marketing
Eric Clark, Wicked Simple Marketing
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Let’s Start the Conversation!
#SSWBNSOCIAL
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Social Media...why should I care?
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Peer endorsement = increased sales
Social networking users are 3 times more likely to trust peer opinions over advertising when making purchasing decisions. (JupiterResearch)
91% say consumer content is the #1 aid to a buying decision. (JC Williams Group)
ONE word of mouth conversion has the impact of 200 TV ads. (BuzzAgent)
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Why else should I care?
• You Can Deliver Better Customer Service• Drives Brand Differentiation• Monitor Your Reputation• Helps Increase Trust in Your Business• Great Customer Data & Market Research• Keeps You Engaged with Your Customers• Drives Traffic to Your Website
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Your Customers Are On It!
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Social Media Has No Age Limit!
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22.5
45.0
67.5
90.0
18-29 30-49 50-60 65+Age Group
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What’s the plan, Stan?
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Step 1: Identify Your Core Customer Base
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Step 2: Be Consistent
• Need to be consistent to see results• Applicable throughout your
ENTIRE brand, not just social media• Give your strategy time.• But...
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Step 3: Be Choosy
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Old School vs. New SchoolOld School: Broadcast MarketingCraft one marketing message about your business and blast it out to as many people as possible.
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Old School versus New SchoolNew School: Engagement MarketingDon’t broadcast messages about your product. You build a community around yourself and your business.
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Simply put…
“Marketing through social networks isn’t as much about selling your
product as it is about engaging your followers.”
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Social media is engagement marketing Form real, one-on-one relationships with people Success in social media is usually met when a
business listens !rst and acts second, and touching a consumer is more effective then targeting one.
People will refer those who they know, like and trust!
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Less is More.
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Step 4: Be Yourself
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Step 5: Analyze Your Results
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Content is King!
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What do I say?
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Rule of thumb...
• Post the type of content that your people want!• About half of your posts should be engaging, visually
appealing, and something that your audience will respond to with likes and shares
• Another 30% of your posts can be educational (how to’s, FAQs, tutorials, facts)
• Final 20% is about your business. Not a heavy sales pitch, but a call to action.
• Post when your “people” are watching!
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Use eye-catching images and videos
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Share discounts & promotions!
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Create a conversation!
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Link back to your website
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Now it’s your turn!
• What’s something you could post this week that will prompt someone to “like” or “share” your post?
• What’s something you could post this week that is relevant to your industry or is educational?
• What’s something you could post this week that is about your business?
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Who are the players?
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LinkedIn = Business Professional
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Facebook = Business Casual
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Twitter= 24/7 Cocktail Party!
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How to Use LinkedIn to Market Your Business
LinkedIn = Business Formal
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Widely used for professional networking Business focused networking site Allows for interaction and networking on an
individual level Professional leads
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Ten Ways to Use LinkedIn to Market Your Business1. Create a Company Pro$le
2. Use LinkedIn Polls
3. Answer a Question
4. Participate with Groups
5. Create a Group
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Ten Ways to Use LinkedIn to Market Your Business
6. Leave a Status Update
7. Ask for Recommendations
8. Advertise
9. Post Job Opportunities
10. Build a Company Buzz
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How to Use Facebook to Market Your Business
Facebook = Business Casual
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Why create a Facebook page?
Facebook has over 1.3 BILLION active users and growing…
50% of these active users log into Facebook in any given day.
The average user has over 130 connections/friends. People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on
Facebook.
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Facebook Page versus aFacebook Profile
If you’re considering using Facebook to promote your business, chances are you’ve asked yourself one of the following:
“What is the difference between a page and and a profile…what should I choose?”
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Simply put…
Pro$les are for PEOPLE
Pages are for ORGANIZATIONS, BUSINESSES, and COMPANIES
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Main differences between pages and profiles:
On a pro$le, someone is your “friend.” On a page, someone “likes” you (previously known as your “becoming your fan”)
With a pro$le, you can send messages to one or more friends, that go directly to their inbox on Facebook. As a page, you can’t do this–you can only send updates.
Both pages and pro$les can both post status updates, links, photos, etc. that appear in their fans’/friends’ news feeds.
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Main differences between pages and profiles:
Pages cannot “add” people as friends. However, your fans can suggest your page to their own friends to become a fan - becomes viral!
Finally, Facebook Pages are public-facing, meaning they can get picked up in search engines and give you and your organization and its website even more exposure.
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It’s Official…
Facebook’s Official Policy: “Pages are for organizations, businesses, celebrities, and bands to broadcast great information to fans in an official, public manner. Like pro$les, they can be enhanced with applications that help the entity communicate with and engage their fans, and capture new audiences virally through their fans’ recommendations to their friends.”
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The answer is…a Facebook page!
So any organization–a football team, realtor, $tness facility, restaurant, dry cleaner’s, etc.–should always have a Facebook Page and not a profile!
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Insights = Free market research
If you have a page and aren’t checking your stats, then you’re missing out on a lot of useful information.
Facebook Insights can only be seen by the admins of your page
Demographics, page activity, interactions
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Target your messaging
You can message your users for free but you can also target your messaging!
Here’s how:Facebook Home Page -> Ads and Pages -> Marketing-> Send UpdateYou can send updates based on location, gender, and age!
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Facts about Facebook ads Ads can appear in the right-hand column of pages
throughout Facebook and appear on many types of pages, including Apps, Photos, Groups, Pages, Pro!les, and the Home page.
The content of a Facebook Ad, would be your Facebook Page, Application, Group, Event or a link to your website.
Facebook Ads for Pages and Events allow users to engage with your ads the same way they interact with other content on Facebook – without leaving the page they are viewing. Ads for Pages include a "Like" link, while ads for Facebook Events include an "RSVP" link.
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Designing your Facebook ads
Facebook content (Page, App or Group) or Website.
Message, body of the ads (135 characters).
Image to be used with the ads
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Targeting your Facebook ads
Location: Select your Country location and then re$ne it (Everywhere, By State/Province or By City/Cites) Then a range out of cities around your selection.
Demographics: Age Range and Sex Likes & Interests: In addition to Likes & Interests this $eld can be used to target people who have listed particular occupations or job titles.
Connections: Target users and/or friends of users that are connected to a Page, Group, Event or Application
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Targeting your Facebook ads
Advanced Demographics: Birthday, Interested in, Relationship Status and Languages.
Education & Work: Select level of education, College Grad (enter a college and major), In College (enter a college and major, graduation years), High School.
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Pricing and Scheduling your Facebook ads
Campaign & Budget: Name and total amount per day or total during the time the ad is scheduled to run.
Campaign Schedule: Date and Time of when to start and stop your ads
Pricing: Pay for Impressions (CPM) or Pay for Clicks (CPC), Max Bid and it will provided a Suggested Bid range
Example: I ran a Ad for seven days, it was seen by 66,222 users in Quincy and cost me $4.77 total.
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How to Use Twitter to Market Your Business
Twitter = 24/7 Cocktail Party
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Why tweet? Generate traffic to your website
Twitter posts are in real-time. If someone is searching on a speci!c topic and you’re tweeting about it and have a link to your site for more information, they can click right on through.
What can happen, and what you want to happen, is for your followers to “re-tweet” your post, which is basically sharing your tweet to their list of followers. Being re-tweeted gets you exposed to more people than just those that follow you.
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Why tweet?
Find prospects and customers Search for keywords related to your product on Twitter
Search and then follow those users who are posting about it. Most people who you follow will return the favor and follow you back.
When you tweet about topics relating to your products, you increase the likelihood that they will see what you have to say as well.
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Tweet your followers right! It isn’t enough just to $nd people to follow on twitter,
you want to do it strategically if you’re doing it for business.
Take a plunge and talk to people, but make it relevant to their business and their followers to increase your success that they’ll retweet you.
Don’t sell – converse! When you engage in conversation versus a high
pressured sales pitch, they’ll get interested in your products and services without waving them in their faces all the time.
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The Social Employee
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Questions?
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Your presentersDonna Mavromates, PartnerWicked Simple [email protected]
Eric Clark, Social Media GuruWicked Simple [email protected]
www.wickedsimplemarketing.comfacebook.com/wickedsimplemarketingtwitter.com/wickedsimplemar