Maritial games - Games People Play (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the...

download

of 12

  • date post

    12-May-2015
  • Category

    Engineering

  • view

    706
  • download

    5

Embed Size (px)

description

Almost any game can form the scaffolding for married life and family living. Some of these games are tolerated longer, under the legal force of contractual intimacy. Marital games can only be arbitrarily separated from sexual games .

Transcript of Maritial games - Games People Play (Transactional analysis / TA is an integrative approach to the...

  • 1.Marital Games

2. Prepared By Manu Melwin Joy Research Scholar School of Management Studies CUSAT, Kerala, India. Phone 9744551114 Mail manu_melwinjoy@yahoo.com Kindly restrict the use of slides for personal purpose. Please seek permission to reproduce the same in public forms and presentations. 3. Marital Games Almost any game can form the scaffolding for married life and family living. Some of these games are tolerated longer, under the legal force of contractual intimacy. Marital games can only be arbitrarily separated from sexual games . 4. Corner Corner illustrates more clearly than most games their manipulative aspect and their function as barriers to intimacy. Paradoxically, it consists of a disingenuous refusal to play the game of another. 5. Courtroom Courtroom is essentially three handed, with a plaintiff, a defendant and a Judge, represented by a husband, a wife and the therapist. In everyday form, courtroom is easily observed in children as a three handed game between two siblings and a parent. 6. Frigid Woman In this game, the husband makes advances to his wife and is repulsed. After repeated attempts, he is told that all men are beasts, he doesnt really love her and all he is interested is in sex. When he resigns, wife tempts him and the game continues. 7. Harried This is played by a housewife who is proficient in ten or twelve different occupations. The thesis of this game is that she takes on everything that comes and even asks for more. This ultimately results in her burn out and being ready for hospitalized. 8. If It Werent For You Briefly, a woman marries a domineering man so that he will restrict her activities and thus keep her from getting into a situation which frighten her. She takes advantage of the situation to complain about the restrictions , which makes her spouse feel uneasy and gives her all sorts of advantages. 9. Look How Hard I Have Tried This is a three handed game played by a married couple with a psychiatrist. Husband is bucking for a divorce and he comes to the therapist to demonstrate that he is cooperating. He ends up by saying Look how hard I have tried and ask for divorce. 10. Sweet Heart Husband exposes the deficiencies of the wife and save her from embarrassment of having to expose them herself. He ends the comment by saying Isnt that right, sweetheart?. 11. Thank You 12. Other TA topics available on slideshare 1. Strokes - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/strokes-24081607. 2. Games People Play - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/psychological- games-people-play. 3. Structural Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/the-ego-state-model. 4. What is TA? - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/what-ta-is 5. Cycles of Development - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/cycles-of- developement-pamela-levin-transactional-analysis. 6. Stages of Cure - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stages-of-cure. 7. Transactions - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/transactions-33677298. 8. Time Structuring - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/time-structuring. 9. Life Position - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/life-position. 10. Autonomy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/autonomy-33690557. 11. Structural Pathology - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/structural-pathology. 12. Game Analysis - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/game-analysis-33725636. 13. Integrated Adult - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/integrated-adult. 14. Stroke Economy - http://www.slideshare.net/manumjoy/stroke-economy- 33826702.