Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email...

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Introduction to e-Marketing

Transcript of Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email...

Page 1: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Introduction to

e-Marketing

Page 2: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Introduction

• Email marketing

• Search engine marketing

• Google Adwords

• Social Media for Tourism

• Facebook advertising

• Bringing people to my site

Page 3: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Definitions • eDM - Electronic Direct Mail – an email (standard or newsletter) to a potential

customer who has subscribed to email correspondence with you or your business

• Open Rate - The number or percentage of people from your total pool of eDM

subscribers who have opened your email

• CTR - Click-Through-Rate – the number or percentage of people from the pool of

people who have opened your eDM that have clicked on a link in the eDM

• PPC - Pay-per-Click – an advertising charge model whereby you only pay for the

advert when someone clicks on it

• CPC - Cost-per-click - the $ value you pay every time a potential customer clicks

on one of your search engine or social media adverts

• CPM - Cost-per-thousand – the $ value you pay every thousand times your advert

is displayed to potential customers

• CPA - Cost-per-acquisition – the $ value you pay every time a potential customer

completes a required action after a click e.g. clicks a lead button or a booking

button or buys a ticket

• Blog – Contraction of web log. A discussion or information site consisting of

individual posts usually listed in reverse chronological order. Blogs can have

single or multiple authors.

Page 4: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Email Marketing

Page 5: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Email Marketing

• Also known as eDM = Electronic Direct

Mail

• Most direct line of communication for

conversion to sales

• Australian average “open rate” is 21.96%

• 91.66% of all Australian emails are

opened within 72hrs

• Mobile email opens have increased by

34%

• Australian average click through rate is

4.24%

Source: BrandMails Australian Email Marketing Benchmarks Report 2013

Page 6: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Why Email Marketing?

1. It is personal • Direct way of initiating ‘one-to-one’ conversation

• Build relationships with customers through regular contact

2. Trusted • Customers already opted in to messages from you

3. Measurable • Measure open rates, click through rates, bounces etc

4. It works • Generally highest ROI in marketing

• Customers pre-sold and ready to buy

5. Affordable • Powerful and cost-effective

Page 7: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Tips for successful email marketing

Headlines:

• Useful

• Ultra-specific

• Unique

• Urgent

Content:

• Interesting and relevant

• Call to action

• Tips about your region

• Make it easy to unsubscribe

• Link to your site

• Specials

Page 8: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Tips for successful email marketing (cont ..)

Important Actions:

• Create a communications plan

• Maximise your template

dimensions

• Keep text short and easy to

scan

• Keep email list clean

• Images – alt text, title text and

links

• Test your eDM before it is sent

• Create an HTML and a text only

version of your email

Page 9: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Best and Worst Times To Send Email

Best Times of Day

Consider:

• 10pm – 9am – Sleeping

• 9am – 10am – Starting Day – Emails opened

• 10am – Noon - Focus on work

• Noon – 2pm Lunchtime

• 2pm – 3pm Focus on work

• 3pm -5 pm Winding down

• 5pm – 7pm Magic moment

• 7pm – 10pm – After work activities

Best Times of the Week

Consider:

• Test what works for your business

• Early in the week good for planning trips for

next weekend

• Later in the week good for last minute deals

Page 10: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Search Engine Marketing

(Pay-Per-Click)

Page 11: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Search engine marketing

Why Search Engines?

Market share Global (Desktop):

Google 83%

Bing 5.63%

Yahoo 8.08%

You Tube is the second largest search engine

In the world and is owned by Google

Benefits

• Speed to market

• Reach

• Highly Targeted and Customisable

• Maximise your ROI by only paying per click

• Tracking

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNHR6IQJGZs

Page 12: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Search engine marketing

Getting started with your Google AdWords Account

Getting started

• Choose your budget

• Create your ads

• Select keywords that match your ads to potential customers

• Enter your billing information.

Campaign Structure

• cost-per-thousand-impressions, or CPM, bid

• cost-per-click, or CPC, bid.

• cost-per-acquisition, or CPA, bid

Example:

Clicks for your keywords are approx. $0.10. Target 100 clicks per day.

$0.10 x 100 = $10 per day (Cost-per-click x Clicks per day = Daily budget)

Budget = $10 per day.

Page 13: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Search Engine Marketing

Writing a good advert

• Highlight what makes your

product/offer unique

• Include prices & promotions

• Tell your customers what they

can do

• Purchase, Call Today, Order, Sign Up

• Include keywords in your text

• Your keyword appears bold in the advert

• Match your ad to your landing page

• Ensure you ad is able to be viewed on mobile devices

• Experiment

Page 14: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Other Directory Listings

PAID

• Yellow Pages (Sensis)

• Google Adwords

• Reachlocal

• Truelocal

• Citysearch

Benefits

• Instant traffic

PAID

• Yellow Pages (Sensis)

• Google Adwords

• Reachlocal

• Truelocal

• Citysearch

Benefits

• Instant traffic

FREE

• Hotfrog

• ATDW

• Truelocal

• Gumtree

• Start Local

Benefits

• Free

FREE

• Hotfrog

• ATDW

• Truelocal

• Gumtree

• Start Local

Benefits

• Free

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Search Engine Marketing

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Social Media for Tourism

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Social Media is now Mass Media

Channel Australia % AU Pop’n NZ % NZ Pop’n

Facebook 11.7 million 50.92% 2.27 million 50.89%

YouTube 9.92 million 43.29% 2.07 million 46.39%

LinkedIn 3.98 million 17.33% 743,000 16.66%

Twitter 2.97 million 12.95% 396,000 8.89%

WordPress 1.76 million 7.68% 343,000 7.69%

Pinterest 1.46 million 6.52% 188,000 4.21%

Flickr 1.2 million 5.24% 140,000 3.14%

Instagram 916,000 3.99% 182,000 4.08%

Tripadvisor 730,000 3.18% 243,000 5.46%

Benefits Challenges

Free Will require time to monitor and maintain

Easy to setup Advertising will cost

Target potential customers

Page 17: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Social Media for Tourism

Facebook

Do’s:

• Do post regularly relevant content

• Do have great photos, links, videos

• Do keep business separate from personal

• Do offer value and incentive to be liked

Don’ts:

• Don’t use personal for business, it violates

terms of service

• Don’t talk to clients the way you talk to

friends

• Don’t try to ‘flog’ your product constantly

• Don’t forget to check your page daily

Statistics

Users

Worldwide

1.2 billion

% Global

Use

11%

AU Users 11.7 million

Page 18: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Social Media for Tourism

Google +

Benefits:

• Growing fast

• Google+ influences search ranking

• Similar to Facebook but you can allocate

followers to groups and target messages

Challenges:

• Time

• Resources

Statistics

Users

Worldwide

135 million

Daily Use 60%

Page 19: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Social Media for Tourism

Twitter

Benefits:

• Communicating

• Generating Leads

• Researching trends

• Seeking Feedback

• Customer service

Challenges:

• Time

• Resources

• Spamming

Statistics

Users

Worldwide

485 million

Daily Use 20%

AU Users 1.6 million

Page 20: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

YouTube

• Benefits:

• Increase conversion rate

• Customers understand your product

• Rank better in a Google search

• Showcase your personality

• Challenges:

• Cost

• Looks professional

Statistics

Users

Monthly

Worldwide

1 billion

Daily Use 40%

AU Users 9.92 million

Page 21: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Social Media Points to Note

• Be professional

• Be active on social media to improve ‘social signals’

• Improve preference in search engines.

Page 22: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Facebook Advertising

Page 23: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Facebook advertising

Different advert types

www.hubspot.com

Key differences:

• Google Ads – bid on keywords people are

searching for

• Facebook ads – bid on ‘likes’ and peoples

interests

Advert types:

• External Website (Standard) Ads

• Facebook Object (Like) Ads

• Page Post Ads

• Sponsored Stories

• Promoted Posts

• Facebook Offers

Page 24: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Facebook advertising

Setting up an ad campaign

www.hubspot.com

• What do you want to achieve • Page Likes? Promote Posts?

• Reach the right audience • What’s your ideal customer?

• Location, age, gender

• Campaign Pricing and Schedule • Budget

• Timing

• Test multiple ads • Have a test control

• Change one part at a time

• Measure your ad performance

Page 25: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Bringing People to My

Site

Page 26: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Bringing people to my site

• Partnering and Clustering

• Links & info about other relevant attractions

• Regional blog

• Improved destination information

• Guest blogs

• Create media releases

• Video

• Google + Local

Page 27: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Exercises & Resources

Page 28: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Exercises

• Come up with 5 killer headlines to ensure I will

open up your email newsletter

• Write 3 posts for your Facebook Business Page

this week

Page 29: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

RESOURCES

USEFUL LINKS

• www.Aweber.com & www.campaignmonitor.com

Email Newsletter Management Software

• http://www.google.com/adwords/ &

http://www.google.com.au/adwords/displaynetwork

Google Adwords and Display Network Centres

• https://www.reachlocal.com.au &http://www.clickmanager.com.au

Campaign and Website Tracking and Monitoring tools

• http://www.hotfrog.com.au, http://www.trulocal.com.au,

http://www.gumtree.com.au, http://www.startlocal.com.au/

Example directory listing websites

Page 30: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

RESOURCES

USEFUL LINKS

• http://www.facebook.com/help/

Facebook Help Centre

• https://adwords.google.com/o/KeywordTool

Use this tool to explore the keywords most relevant to your product

• http://www.ret.gov.au/ntaf

For general information about T-QUAL accreditation

• http://atdw.com.au/

For information on the Australian Tourism Data Warehouse and current distributors

• http://getconnectedregister.dnsw.com.au/GetConnected.asp

Get Connected/ATDW registration page

• http://www.atdw.com.au/tourismekit.aspx

Tourism e-Kit – free digital educational tutorials for the tourism industry in Australia

Page 31: Introduction to e-marketing - Destination NSWIntroduction to e-Marketing . Introduction • Email marketing • Search engine marketing • Google Adwords • Social Media for Tourism

Tourism E-Kit tutorials

• Email Marketing – Tutorial 25

• Google Adwords – Tutorial 27

• Social Media for Tourism 31 - Tutorial 40

• TXA Tutorial – Tutorial 24

• ATDW Tutorial - Tutorial 31

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