Internet advertising
description
Transcript of Internet advertising
Display ads , classified listings, rich media ads, click through, conversion
INTERNET ADVERTISING
THE GROWTH STORY John Wanamaker – Revolutionized
marketing “New Wanamaker era” – Era of
innovative advertising In the beginning, online advertising
began with a commercial service called Prodigy which went live in 1990 and adopted advertising as a revenue source
1994 –Internet advertising started gaining some foothold
1995 – Internet Advertising Council decides on goals, objectives and membership guidelines
Internet Advertising - ever growing with a revenue potential of $428 billion
Advantages Reaching wider audience at low cost Quicker results Easy and inexpensive to measure statistics Option for consumer research before buying Direct interaction with the advertisement Customizing ads according to target audience
THE PROS AND CONS
Drawbacks
Ethics a major issue in Internet advertising Consumer’s inability to feel the product The human factor is missing Excessive use may lead to spamming
THE PROS AND CONS
Used to match up buyers and sellers within a limited geographic region
1st classified ad published in 1704 in Boston News Letter
Craigslist.org - one of the first online classified sites, grown to become the largest classified source with 14 million unique visitors a month
Online classifieds -Tend to be longer than print classified ads
Searchable, local and wider scope for audience
CLASSIFIED LISTINGS
Advantages
Most powerful tool of online advertising over the internet
Gives the product a lot of exposure on the World wide web.
Opens a massive global market for the product.
Provides unlimited sources to gain profitsInexpensive but has a high rate of returnBetter and more targeted search
capabilities
Shortcomings
An ad will expire quickly which requires constant replacement
Advertising on one site is not enough to produce great results. One must post to many classified sites to see big results.
DISPLAY ADVERTISING
WHAT IS DISPLAY AD????
Contains texts, logos, photographs location maps, and similar items
Online display advertising is the use of the Internet as an advertising medium where promotional messages appear on other websites and search engine results pages.
TEXTLOGOS
PHOTOGRAPHSMAP
S
Is th
at all?
?? I
Innova
tion is
dynamic
TYPES OF FORMATS
POP UP ADSBANNER
ADS
TEXT ADS
MAKE BIG WITH LITTLE MONEY
PAY PER CLICK , COST PER IMPRESSION MEANS FLEXIBLITY IN INVESTMENT
EFFECTIVE DISPLAY
IMMEDIATE RESULTSBRAND AWARENESS
WITHIN SECONDSTRACEABLITY AND EASY
TO MONITOR
WHY DISPLAY ADS IN INTERNET?
52 % RESPOND TO DISPLAY ADS
31 % RESPOND BY CLICKING THE AD
38 % LEARN ABOUT A BRAND FOR THE FIRST
TIME
49 % SEARCH ABOUT A PRODUCT/COMPANY
AFTER SEEING IT IN DISPLAY AD
STATS THAT STEER
competitors can click on your advertisement without purchasing anything and thus drive up your advertising costs :D :D
Banner ads have experienced declining click through rate
Segmenting has to be done properly
Think well before you place it
LIMITATIONS
RICH MEDIA MARKETING
form of advertising that utilizes interactive digital media, including streaming, video and audio
More interactivedone to attract attention
and to stand out amongst the huge volumes of ads and copy
powerful creative opportunity
RICH MEDIA MARKETING
In-Page Ads –show up in various areas of a web page in the form of a rectangle or preset banner
Out-Of Page Ads – Examples include Floating Ads, Pop-Up Ads and Expandable Ads
In-Stream Ads – These are ads that involve either pre or post roll videos
TYPES OF RICH MEDIA ADS
Higher interaction rateRich Media ads are
measurable and scalableHigher performance levelsBrand awarenessUser experienceCommunicate more
informationMore clicksCollect more information
ADVANTAGES
MAY SLOW DOWN A WEBSITEMAY ANNOYMORE DIFFICULT TO CREATEMORE EXPENSIVEMAY BE BLOCKEDWHERE INFORMATION
EXCHANGE IS THE DESIRE, LEANER MEDIA TYPES CAN OFFER MORE EFFICIENCY
DRAWBACKS
Conversion marketing•Act of converting customer who browses your site to a paying customer•A marketing tactic that encourages a customer to take a specific action•This is measured by conversion rate. Conversion rate = number of goal achievements visits
You sell boots online.Everytime you sell a pair of boots, u make profit.Statistically, every 500 visitors to your website you sell 10 pair of boots.Avg cost per click = 0.25 rupees 500 clicks * 0.25 = 125 rupees 10 boot sales * 25 = 250 rupees profit = 125 rupees.
In other case, when you sell only 4 pair of boots,Boot sales = 4 * 25 = 100 rupees.Loss = 25 rupees
10000 total
customers
100% of visitors
60%
30%
3%
Total visitors
Visit shopping area
Place item in cart
Make a purchase
Conversion process
Methods to increase conversion rate:
• Generate user reviews for the product which can accelerate conversion
• Show credibility signs like third-party trusted logos and good site design to increase trust level of visitor
• Good site navigation structure to help users find and browse without thinking too much about where to click
• Better content of the website
• Increase usability to reduce the barriers towards the conversion goal.
CLICK THROUGH ADVERTISING
CLICK THROUGH MARKETING
•The process of a visitor clicking on a web advertisement and going to the advertiser's Web site.•The click-through rate of an advertisement is defined as the number of clicks on an ad divided by the number of times the ad is shown•Pay per click (PPC) companies all over the world are providing clients the results they are looking for, launching them to the top 10 or five results•PPC management companies are waging a constant bid war through popular search engines like Google, MSN and Bing
ADVANTAGES•very beneficial to website owners and online business owners when it is performed the right way•you don’t have to make any changes in your web pages just to rank high on the search engines•you can opt not to tweak your website’s pages in pay per click•process you will have to go through is so simple•click is still a common resort for website promotion and it can generate immediate results
DISADVANTAGES•pay per click is the bidding war•may be so expensive to maintain•you need to be very targeted in your choice of keywords and ads creation