Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer
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Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online
MarketerElias Dabbas
Abu Dhabi - November 16, 2011
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Moving from Offline to Online Marketing
• 5-10 reports
• Sample Size < 3%
•Research = what people say or feel
• Fixed messages changeable every edition
•Unlimited reports
• Sample Size > 80%
•Research = what people are actually doing
•Messages changeable when needed
Offline Online
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“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted”
Albert Einstein
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Top-Down Approach
Objectives
KPIs
Metrics / Reports
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Example
Objective:
Loose 7kg in 6 months
KPIs:Eating habits
Exercising frequencyExercise progress
Metrics:
Minutes joggedWeights lifted
Chocolate bars enjoyedetc
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Types of Websites (Actions)
What do I want
my users to DO?
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Media / Content
Articles, videos, photos, news, etc...Usually free content, ad supportedMain goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
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Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value
eCommerce / Transactional
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Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)Qualified leads who contact you become customersMain goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead
Lead Generation
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Users create content and share it, you provide the platformCreated content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business modelMain goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing
User-Generated Content / Interactivity
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Other Types
Directories Search engines Support websitesClassified Ads
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Key Performance Indicators
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6 - 10 to be manageableDifferent KPIs for different peopleDifferent KPIs in different frequenciesShown in trends over timeShould be linked to things you can do
KPIs
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Main Online Measures / Metrics
Visits
CPA
CPCCPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
Unique Visitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
Page Views
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Page Views
Number of times a page was served / “viewed”
heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page
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Number of times an ad was served “viewed”Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)
Ad Impressions
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Visits & Unique Visitors
•Visits:
•Unique Visitors:
Number of times a “session” is started at a site
Number of people (computers) that visited your site
I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor
Example:
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Pages / Visit
Average page views per visitTotal page views ÷ total visits
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Bounce Rate
•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)
•1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate
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Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)
•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR
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Visits per Visitor
• Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time
• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor
• Important measure of loyalty
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CPx
• CPC: cost per click
• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions
• CPL: cost per lead
• CPA: cost per action (acquisition)
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Conversions
• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc
• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate
Conversions
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Visits
CPA
CPCCPM
Click-Through Ratio (CTR)
Ad Impressions
Unique Visitors
Conversions
Bounce Rate
Page Views
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Campaign Lifecycle
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• Total Spend: $10,000
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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Brand
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“Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiencesserved-up by the organization.
The brand is the experience.”
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Who you want to beVs.
What people conceive you to be
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“Discover” Your Brand
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MyCoolTrips.com
mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews
mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews
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Content Traffic
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mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews
mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews
mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews
mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews
mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews
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ContentTraffic
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5.1B pages of content1 page of search
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Search and Search Partners
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Search Partners
• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by Google
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• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site
• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…
Content (Display) Network
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Content (Display) Network
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Types of Ads
•Text•Image•Display Ad Builder•Video•Mobile (web)•Mobile (call)
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Text Ads
• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters
–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 5
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Image Ads
Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf
Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper
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Display Ad Builder
• Customize your own ad online59
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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes
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Video Ads (Click to Play)
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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
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WAP Text Ads
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WAP Image Ads
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Account Structure
•Campaigns•Ad groups•Ads •Keywords •Destination URLs•Bids
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AdWords Account Structure
Website1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza
Bids Destination URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
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Account
•One Google account
•Accessible / manageable by several accounts
•Different access levels•Admin
•Standard
•Read Only
•Email Only
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Campaign (Settings)
• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function–Language–Network(s)–Geography–Daily Budget–Device–Scheduling
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Language Targeting
Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses
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Geographical Targeting
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Time of the Day / Day of the Week
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Campaign Best Practices
• Use a consistent naming convention–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible
E.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search
EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search
EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display
• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles
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Ad Groups
• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords
Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers
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Ad Group Best Practices
• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible
• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing page(s) for each ad group
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Keyword Match Types
Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact
string of characters is searched for
Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before
or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans,
get coffee beans77
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Keyword Match Types
Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries
Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations,
synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop,
coffee shop78
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Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have
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Writing Effective Ads
Ads relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages
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Ads Relevant to Keywords
Each ad group should be focused on a topic
Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
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BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for
the userThey are what users care about
Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…
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Features
How your product helps me achieve the benefits
Specific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation
Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…
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Calls to Action
Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users
Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…
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AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)
TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match
typeTime of day / Day
of week Search / search
partnersContent: automatic
and managedDevicesDemographics
Effective AdsAds relevant to specific
keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in
adsTest different
landing pages
MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Post-click performance