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Google Confidential and Proprietary 1
AdWords – Key Concepts Search Advertising 101
Filip Hracek Account Strategist
Google Confidential and Proprietary 2
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
3 Google Confidential and Proprietary
What is AdWords?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Rear-view mirror
4
“We drive into the future using only our rear-view
mirror.” Marshall McLuhan (1911-1980)
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Print ads Internet banner ads
5
Google Confidential and Proprietary 6
Why is search impotant?
87% of visitors to a website come from search engines
source: Google internal
Google Confidential and Proprietary 7
Buying a new laptop
laptop
How does marketing via Google work?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google.com => Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary 8
One search box for all questions…
Web results
Video results (Steve’s famous Stanford commencement speech)
News results (Articles about Steve and Apple)
News archives
Images
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Online consumers use keywords to search for information
Google Search… and ads
Google Confidential and Proprietary
flights to barcelona
Online consumers use keywords to search for information.
Google Search… and ads… our core business
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Headline: 25 characters
Description line 1: 35 characters
Description line 2: 35 characters
Display URL: 35 characters
Destination URL: 1024 characters
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Where do the ads show?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Property
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Natural Search Results
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Search Partner
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Search Partners in Europe
Norway Netherlands
Belgium
Germany
Italy Spain
France
Portugal Turkey
UK
Switzerland
Denmark
Finland
Poland
Czech Republic
Bulgaria
Austria
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdWords Ads
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Property
Ads are also served on keyword matching basis and relevancy
Google Confidential and Proprietary
AdSense site
Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Google Content Partner
Ads are contextually matched to the theme of the page
AdWords Ads
Google Confidential and Proprietary 17
Contextual & placement targeting
Keyword / Contextual Targeting Uses your keywords to match the theme of your Ad Group to the theme of content pages
1
2 ‘Placement’ targeting The advertiser specifies the websites that they want to show their ads on.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Largest global advertising network
The Google Content Network UK
• Reach over 80% of Internet Users
• 1 Billion Daily Ad Exposures
• 27 Million Monthly Visitors
• Thousands of Publishers
Source: comScore Custom Analysis, Nov 07
19
How are ads ranked?
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
20
Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
relevant
targeted
measurable
inexpensive
irrelevant
too broad
“spontaneous”
expensive
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Search engine marketing
21
Books at Amazon Millions of titles, new & used. Free 2-Day Shipping w/Amazon Prime! Amazon.com/books
BOOQ Laptop bags Vypers, Boas, Pythons, Mambas We’ve got them all. Fast shipping! www.pivotgear.com
Search engine marketing can be efficient but it can also be inefficient.
Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Cost-per-click (CPC) => pay-per-click (PPC)
Charged up to max CPC
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Ranking formula
CPC – Cost per Click
CTR – The ratio of the number of times an ad is clicked divided by the number of times an ad is viewed (Impressions)
Max CPC
AdWords is based on an auction designed to reward relevance
Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Ad rank = maximum CPC x Quality Score
£2.50 x 6 = 15 £2 x 6 = 12
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
£2 x 4 = 8
£2 x 3.5 = 7
£0.5 x 8 = 4
Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance
£2.50 x 6 = 15
£3 x 3.5 = 10.5
£5 x 2 = 10
Google Confidential and Proprietary Note: Selected sites and products are used for illustrative purposes only
Rewarding relevance through Quality Score
QS determined by: • Click-through-rate (CTR)
• Relevance of ad text to keyword
• Historical keyword performance
• Landing page assessment
• Other relevancy factors
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Science of Search Maximise profitable results from Google Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Google Account Structure
AdWords account
Campaign Campaign
Ad group Ad group Ad group
Keywords Keywords Keywords
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad Text
Ad group level • CPC bids
Campaign level • Daily budget • Country and language targeting • Network options • Start and end dates
Keyword level • Keyword CPCs • Keyword URLs • Position preferences
Keywords
Ad group
Account Level • Login Details • Billing information
Google Confidential and Proprietary 30
Account Limits
Level Limits
Active Campaigns 25
Ad Groups/Campaign 100
Keywords/Ad Group 2,000
Text ad/Ad Group No limit
Images/Account 50
Overall Account Keyword Limit 50,000
Google Confidential and Proprietary 31
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 32
Landing Page Quality
Search: Cheap Holidays
• Easy to navigate
• Relevant to ad text
• Unique content
• Display product details
Cheap Holidays
Great deals on all destinations.
Lowest prices in the UK guaranteed!
www.holidays.com
Google Confidential and Proprietary 33
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 34
Structuring Ad Groups
Create separate ad groups/campaigns for:
• Specific themes
• Best selling products
• Brand/Company
• Products/Services
• Long-tail traffic
Ideas for structures:
• Match the website
• Match the products you sell
• Organise by brand
Google Confidential and Proprietary 35
Official Google Products Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella
Google umbrella Google golf kit
Golf accessories Blue umbrella
Travel mug Flask
Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock
Google beach towels Blue travel flask
Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock
Red clock Golf umbrellas
Usb stick Usb drive
Google backpacks Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag Google rucksacks
Laptop case Google pens
Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse
Usb extender Pen sets
Google speaker Vase speaker
Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick
Google office equipment Modem cord
Cycling jersey Cycling top
Google hoody Google hoodie
Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing
Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts
Group Keywords
Google Confidential and Proprietary 36
Beach towel Google towels Golf umbrella
Google umbrella Google golf kit
Golf accessories Blue umbrella
Travel mug Flask
Google flask Alarm clock Alarm clocks Google clock
Google beach towels Blue travel flask
Lava lamp Google lava lamps Travel alarm clock
Red clock Golf umbrellas
Usb stick Usb drive
Google backpacks Laptop backpacks
Laptop bag Google rucksacks
Laptop case Google pens
Google pencils Mouse pad Mini mouse
Usb extender Pen sets
Google speaker Vase speaker
Small computer mouse Google mouse Memory stick
Google office equipment Modem cord
Cycling jersey Cycling top
Google hoody Google hoodie
Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper
Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing
Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt
Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap Google hat Fleece vest White t-shirt Polo shirts
Group Keywords - Better Google Accessories Great prices on Google Accessories – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Google Office Equipment Great prices on Google Office Equipment – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Google Wearables Great prices on Google Clothing and gear – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Google Confidential and Proprietary 37
Group Keywords - Best
Google Beach Towel Great prices on Google Beach Towels – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Beach towel Google towels
Google Bike Jersey Great prices on Google Bike Shorts – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Cycling jersey Cycling top
Google USB Stick Great prices on Google USB Sticks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Usb drive Usb sticks
Google Golf Umbrellas Great prices on Google Golf Umbrellas – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Golf umbrella Google umbrella Google golf kit Golf accessories Blue umbrella
Google Laptop Backpacks Great prices on Google Laptop Backpacks – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Google backpacks Laptop backpacks Laptop bag Google rucksacks Laptop case
Google Hoodie Great prices on Stylish Google Hoodies – Shop now! www.googlestore.com
Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google hooded jumper Hooded tops
Google Confidential and Proprietary 38
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 39
Keyword Matching Options
Match Type
How it must be entered in AdWords
The ad will show when
The ad will show when a user types the following
Broad Caribbean Cruise
All words containing this word or combination of words in any order is used as the query
Caribbean holiday Cruises Cruise holiday in the Caribbean
Phrase “Caribbean Cruise”
Keywords are typed in the exact order specified. But have other words before or after
Cheap Caribbean Cruise Caribbean Cruise deals Luxury Caribbean Cruise
Exact [Caribbean Cruise] Keywords must be only & exactly what the user types in
Caribbean Cruise
Negative Also Negative Phrase, & Negative Exact
- Tom - “Tom Cruise” - [Tom Cruise]
Ads will not appear when this search term is entered in the query
Add will not show if someone types: Tom Cruise
Google Confidential and Proprietary 40
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 41
Choose all the right keywords
• Core terms
• Root & stem model
• Singular & plural
• Common misspellings (separate ad group)
Google Confidential and Proprietary 42
General Rules on Keyword Selection
What you don’t need to consider What you need to bear in mind
• Keywords case (upper/lower)
Upper and lower case variations are not counted as separate keywords
• Plurals may not be included in match types
• Replication of keywords will lead to self-competition
• Variations on accents not included
• Misspellings not included
Google Confidential and Proprietary 43
Optimisation
1 Landing page quality
2 Reviewing campaign/AdGroup structure
3 Match Types
4 Expanding keyword lists
5 Improving/writing ad text
Google Confidential and Proprietary 44
Writing Ad Text
Be specific!
• Refer to USPs
• Refer to location if needed
• Use Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Create a Specific Ad Title
• Have a brand presence
• Include your best performing KW’s in the ad’s title.
Create Multiple ads and test, tweak & test
Google Confidential and Proprietary 45
1. USPs: special offers, free / fast delivery 2. Brand 3. Prices 4. Calls to Action 5. 2 – 4 creatives per ad group → auto-
optimization 6. Dynamic Keyword Insertion
Buy Google Beach Towel White cotton towel with full colour Google logo. Buy for under £15! www.googlestore.com/uk
64MB Google USB Drive Sleek, silver-tone USB thumb drive Ultra-portable. Only £15 – Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk
Buy Google USB Drive 64MB USB drive with Google logo Free delivery within 3 working days www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Memory Stick} 64MB, ultra-portable USB drive Buy now at Google’s Official Store www.googlestore.com/uk
Official Google Towels 100% 2-ply woven cotton beach towel 36”x70” with Google logo. Buy now! www.googlestore.com/uk
{KeyWord:Google Towels} 100% cotton heavyweight beach towel Receive 25% discount on 3 or more! www.googlestore.com/uk
Hot tips for Creatives
Google Confidential and Proprietary 46
{KeyWord:Google Products} Great prices on Google Merchandise – Shop now! www.GoogleStore.com
Cycling jersey Cycling top Google hoody Google hoodie Grey hooded top Google red logo hooded jumper Hooded tops Cycling clothing Google clothing Arm warmer Google tshirt Google t-shirt Google t shirt Tracksuit bottoms Jogging top Baseball cap
Dynamic Keyword Insertion
• Use the appropriate format:
{KeyWord: Default Text} Upper case will determine format of
inserted keyword.
Default text will be displayed when keyword isn’t allowed (e.g. character restriction)
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Budgets
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Measure performance (CPA) by product category and adjust budgets and bids to meet your goals
Campaign A Campaign B
Budget Profit Budget Profit
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
• Typically Click Through Rate (CTR) increases with position
• As CTR increases, more customers come to your site from the same number of impressions
• Work out the highest profitable position for your ad text to achieve target volume and profit
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimize daily budgets Budget for maximum return
Users search and convert at all times of day, every day of the week, and every month of the year. As long as they are searching for you or your products,
you should always be found
The most efficient way of doing this is to raise your budgets and control your spend through CPC bidding
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Bids
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids Bid according to marketing goal
CPC for conversions
CPM for branding
CPMs needs to be high enough to win the auction for placement on a selected site as they compete with CPC automatic placements, they are therefore the most powerful
bidding option for branding campaigns with the goal of visibility vs. clicks.
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression
PC World Pink laptop Coloured Laptop
Dell PC World
Cheap Laptops
Laptops
Currys Tablet Laptops
Toshiba Portege
m400-11h
PCWorld Laptops
Laptops Coloured Laptops
Pink Laptops Comet
0 15 22 26 30 37 43 47 48 62 66
PCWorld Dell
DealTime Amazon
PCWorld Dell
Shopping.com eBay
Comet Kelkoo
Pixmania Dixons eBay
Pixmania Bizrate
MicroDirect
Misco Currys
Amazon Bizrate
Dell Lenovo Toshiba
PCWorld Dell Ebuyer
Comet Currys
PCWorld Sony Style
Nextag Dell
Pixmania
eBay PCWorld
PriceRunner
ebuyer
From “PC World” to laptop purchase at ebuyer in 66 days
First Search Purchase
Visi
ts Se
arch
es
Day
s
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Bids Know the value of a click / impression
Last click attribution undervalues crucial ‘assist’ clicks
All the glory All the work
Assist Last click conversion
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Creative & Structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure Use multiple creatives
Running 2-4 creatives can yield the optimal CTR for your account as AdWords can assess the best performing ads and give them priority
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure Tailor your ad text to the user’s needs
Ad texts are your chance to attract customers as well as set realistic expectations as to what the user will find if they click through to your site.
Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.londonflightsite.co.uk
Call To Action Special Offer
Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.holidaysite.com/specialoffer
Prices
Buy DVDs Online Get top box-sets and all the Latest movies from just £9.99 www.dvdstoresite.co.uk
Dynamic Keyword Insertion (DKI)
Low Apr Credit Cards Get 16.9% typical APR variable when You apply online, plus rewards www.creditsite.co.uk/cards
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure Keep trialling different creatives
User behaviour is dynamic and responsive to many external factors, e.g.: offline messaging, current affairs, the economic environment.
Changing your creative message at regular intervals allows you to showcase different product USPs and to differentiate yourself from the competition.
Trialling different creatives allows the creative to remain dynamic and may lead to uplifts in CTR (Click Through Rate).
Book London Flights Great savings to be made on flights Out of London. Limited time only. www.advertisera.co.uk
Save On Holidays Latest discounts, codes & offers! Up to 40% off high street prices www.advertisera.com/specialoffer
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Optimise Creative and Structure Mirror your website to structure your AdWords account
AdWords Campaign
Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group
Website
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Summary
Google Confidential and Proprietary
The Science of Search
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Key Takeaways
Add more keywords Always check for new keywords.
Match your ads to your website and advertising content
Monitor your site and conversion activity to determine value of keywords
Optimize bids and daily budgets Differentiate budgets by category of product / service
Set CPCs to appear in the most profitable position
Budget for maximum return
Optimise creatives and structure Use multiple creatives
Tailor your ads to the consumers needs
Copy your website structure when building campaign structure
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Google Display Network
The Performance Network
The Performance Network
What is the Google Display Network?
YouTube and Google Sites Doubleclick Ad Exchange Partner Sites
Sites Games Social Media Video Feeds Mobile
The Biggest Ad Network in UK*
84%83% 83%
82%
79%
74% 74%
73%
68%
64%
GoogleContentNetwork
Microso:MediaNetwork
AOLAdverAsing(AdverAsing.com)
Yahoo!Network SpecificMedia 24/7RealMedia UnanimisNetworkAggregate
ValueClickMedia(vcmedia)
TradeDoubler AdconionMediaGroup
*By Unique Users Source: Comscore Media Metirx UK, April 2010
84% Internet User Reach
36M Monthly Unique Users
453 Average Impressions per User per Month
Hundreds of thousands of sites
No penalties for late submission or campaign withdrawals
No contracts ever
No premiums on different formats (like image, video, rich-media) OR remarketing
Price set by market Ensures that you only pay the minimum needed for your ad position; No fixed, inflated pricing, you chose the level to start off at
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
Precise targeting to reach your goals
Contextual Targeting
Placement Targeting
Remarketing
Where They Are Where They Have Been
Category Targeting
Contextual Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on the content they’re reading using the most powerful contextual technology in the world
Google uses keywords and themes to find the right placements, showing your ads on pages that are the most suitable match for your message
Category Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on our categorisation of thousands of sites
Choose from over 600 categories
Luxury Goods
Luxury Auto Sites Travel Sites
Golf Sites
Placement Targeting Serve ads to consumers based on specific sites on the Google Display Network
You can select specific web pages, online videos, games, RSS feeds, and mobile sites to show your ads
AdPlanner allows you to search for specific sites based on the audience that you are targeting
Remarketing 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing
‘Our largest finance client has seen tremendous results from the GDN for a long time now. We were one of the first to use Google's remarketing technology, and it has been a boon to the operation. It has taken the overall performance to another level.’
Jessica Bender Digital Campaign Manager, PHD
97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit to your website. Target those people on the Google Display Network to bring them back to your site.
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing drove the highest conversion rate and the lowest CPA for Nexus One Display Campaign
• Conversion rate for remarketing was 2.3x higher than the account average and CPA was 2.4x lower
• Display ads performed the best. Remarketing display had 3.2x higher conversion rate than the account average for display.
• Due to high performance, the team roughly tripled the remarketing budget in 3 months
Remarketing Case Study
Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Google Display Network Our recommended solution for your marketing need
Direct Response Branding
Goal • Drive Purchase, Downloads, Sign-ups and Leads
• Create Awareness • Generate Interest
Targeting • Category Targeting • Contextual Targeting • Remarketing
• Placement Targeting • Category Targeting
Bidding • CPC • CPM
Ad Format • Text • Image, Promoted Video • Rich Media
• Image and CTP Video • Rich Media • InStream Video
How to get started today 1. Speak to your Display Sales representative about your campaign 2. Let us suggest the best way to access the network based on your objectives 3. We will help to build and execute an amazing campaign on the UK’s biggest ad-network!
Add a different quote We use the Google Display Network for one of our largest Direct Response advertisers and it is consistently one of the best performing networks on our plan.
Tamara Cross Strategy Director, MG OMD
Google Confidential and Proprietary 76
Content
1 Key Concepts of AdWords
2 Search Best Practices: Science of Search
3 The Google Display Network
4 Q & A
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Thanks for your attention!
77
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Appendix Additional Slides
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional slides for core presentation
Our Vision for Display Advertising
Performance Open Simplify
Buyer logs in to AdWords or DFA, and specifies
desired inventory or reviews available opportunities
Seller makes inventory eligible for purchase
An auction matches each piece of eligible inventory to the highest bidding buyer. Alternately, buyers may
purchase reserved
Ad Exchange – What is it?
Ad Exchange Media Buyer Publisher
Auction
Flexible site placement;
targeting options
#1 Online Advertising Network
Mass Media
Niche Media
# of sites
Reach
Across both mass-media and niche sites
Overview of Targeting Options
Targeting Option How to use it When to use it Available Ad Formats Goal
Contextual Targeting
Select keywords to target ads to web content
You want to reach people engaged with pages focused on particular topic
Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS, Local business
Direct Response
Placement Targeting
Manually select placements on pages where you want your ads to appear
You want to reach a targeted audience in a specific set of environments
Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, InStream Video, InVideo, 3PAS
Branding
Category Targeting
Select categories to target ads to groups of web pages with content focused on a specific subject
You want to reach a broad audience interested in certain types of content
Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS
Branding, Direct Response
Remarketing Target people who visited your website but didn’t convert
You want to reconnect to build brand loyalty and cement your brand message
Text, Image, Flash, Click-to-play video, 3PAS
Direct Response & Longer-term branding
Audience Selection
DoubleClick AdPlanner
AdWords Placement Tool
YouTube Video Targeting Tool
Find relevant Sites & Videos
AdWords Keyword Tool
Search-Based Keyword Tool
Google Wonder Wheel
Develop keyword themes
Google Insights for Search
DoubleClick AdPlanner
GDN Planning tool
Find insights about your audience
Plan your campaigns with
the largest data set of audience behavior
on the internet
• Target people who have visited your website but didn’t convert • Re-advertise to these people with a different message • Bring them back to your website - engage them again
• 97% of new site visitors don’t convert on the first visit* • Target them on a network with more reach, scale & efficiency than any other • 84% of the UK online population can be reached on the Google Display Network • You only target hot prospects that have previously engaged with your site • No premium for Remarketing on the Google Display Network
*Source: Core Metrics UK Benchmarking, March 2009
Remarketing
Step 3: Start serving ads to your hot prospects • Create Text, Display or Video ads • Ads should be designed to persuade hot prospects to return • Upload ads to AdWords • Set the cost you are prepared to pay to get them to return (CPC) • Check if you want to exclude any sites, categories or topics • Go live!
Step 1: Set clear objective and tag your site • Start with a simple strategy • “Homepage” and “Thank You” page are a good place to begin • Google Account Manager will email you 2 tags (a few lines of code) • Copy and paste the tags onto the two pages • You’re now collecting hot prospects!
Step 4: Reap rewards and scale up • Test, learn and scale
Step 2: Google collects a hot prospects list • Tags drop cookies on “Homepage” and “Thank You” page visitors • Within 48h Google creates a list of visitor cookies for each site • “Homepage” list - “Thank You” page list = “Hot prospects” list • These hot prospects visited your Homepage but didn’t convert
Remarketing / How does it work
Control the Environment with Brand Safety Features Negative Keywords
Use keywords to prevent your sites from appearing on particular themes of page content.
Site, Topic & Category Exclusions Prevent your ads from appearing on specific sites or
types of Google Display Network pages.
Above the Fold Targeting Exclude placements that may appear in a lower part
of a website requiring the user to scroll.
Ad Planner 1000 Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers that
are one of the largest 1000 publishers on the web.
Brand Select Filter Restrict your campaigns to AdSense publishers
algorithmically determined by Google as brand safe based on site quality.
Target IASH Bundle* Target an IASH approved bundle of sites on the
Google Display Network using Category Targeting.
* IASH bundle not yet available for targeting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics - Ad Formats -
Full set of creative options to engage with users
Ad Format Sizes
Standard Image (JPG or GIF)
Standard Flash
Rich Media Flash
In-Unit Video
Click-to-play Video Ads
Banner: 468 x 60
Square: 250 x 250
Small Square: 200 x 200
Leaderboard: 728 x 90
Medium Rectangle: 300 x 250
Large Rectangle: 336 x 280
Skyscraper: 120 x 600
Wide Skyscraper: 160 x 600
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics - Pricing and Reporting -
You are in Control: Set Your Own Pricing
CPC CPM
What? Pay whenever the ad appears
Pay when users click trough to your site
When? Campaigns in which you care
about visibility and track metrics such as impressions, reach, frequency and search uplift
Campaigns in which you care about clicks and track metrics such
as sales, leads and sign ups
The auction system guarantees the best possible price Conversion tracking and optimisation products are available at no extra cost
Real-time Reporting and Controls to Maximize Results
Automate Optimization
• Set your maximum CPA – let Conversion Optimizer do the rest
• On average, a 21% increase in conversions and a 14% decrease in CPA*
• Provide creative, budget and target CPA and let Auto Optimizer* drive conversions
• Bid more on what works
• Exclude what doesn’t work
• Focus on profitable demos
• Invest more in profitable hours
• Manage frequency, maximize reach
Optimize Manually
* Source: Google Internal Analysis. This analysis compares the performance of Conversion Optimizer campaigns with a control set of campaigns and represents the average impact of Conversion Optimizer. The actual impact will vary from campaign to campaign.
Get daily reports on:
Site by site performance
Reach and Frequency
Conversions
Domain- and URL-Level Reporting
Google Confidential and Proprietary
Additional Topics - Sample Sites -
Google Display Network Sites Sample categories
Travel
Source: Google AdPlanner, Oct 2010, UK
Entertainment & Games News & Classified
Health & Beauty Finance Communities