GAUC 2016 - Raphael Nolens -Adwords + Analytics, the perfect marriage
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Transcript of GAUC 2016 - Raphael Nolens -Adwords + Analytics, the perfect marriage
Google Analytics & Adwords�a perfect marriage
Raphael Nolens!
Colliding !Creativity & Data!
1998!
The meet!
2001!
The start!From analytics to!
360-degree performance!
2013!2007! 2016!
15 years Performance @ These Days !
Agency !of the year!
> 100!
2010!
> 170!> 50!
2009!
These Days !Amsterdam / Londen!
2005! 2006!
Always on! Campaign! Consulting!
Adwords Performance cheat sheet, or !How we managed +10 Million Euro Adwords Media Budget for our customers!
30 Million !Sessions!
AVG CTR!
0.35%!
SEARCH CPC
0.68€ !
SEARCHCPM 9.4€ !
DISPLAY CPM
0.36€ !
DISPLAYCPC
0.15€ !
CONVERSION RATE !15.07 %!
COST /CONV3.6€!
Google Analytics & Adwords!Intro - DONE"
The Setup"
3 Reasons Why"
DNS Belgium case"
Conclusion"
1."
2."
3."
4."
S E T U P 1 . A D M I N R I G H T S #
Make sure the Google Account !
you use has sufficient Admin rights !
on both Adwords & the Analytics !
account/property that will receive traffic !
from the Adwords campaigns.!
S E T U P 2 . L I N K #
Link GA to Adwords. !
This can be done in both interfaces.!
on GA property level!
or !
on Adwords account level!
S E T U P 3 . A U T O - T A G #
For Analytics to be able to understand &
connect Adwords data it is essential that
Auto-tagging is switched on.!
!
Beware, default is off.!
The setting can be found in the Adwords!
account preferences.!
S E T U P 4 . G O A L S ! #
To unleash the power of both products!
it is essential to setup Goals and/or
ecommerce tracking in GA.!
!
!
Of course, !
only if you have not done this already.!
S E T U P 5 . I M P O R T G O A L S #
Often forgotten.!
It is not only important to have Goals
defined in GA. !
In Adwords you must also select & Import
the Goals that you want to use to optimise
the Adwords campaign & automated
bidding rules.!
Adwords > Tools > Conversions > GA!
S E T U P 6 . A T T R I B U T I O N #
For those with ecommerce stores or
typically longer customer journey’s &
conversion funnels we strongly advise to
invest in Customer Journey Analysis and
configure the right attribution model for
the business.!
Analytics + Adwords
3 good reasons Why
W H Y 1 . K I S S#
Combining Adwords & Analytics is the
easiest, most flexible & transparent
way for companies to start running
programmatic campaigns without the
complexity, lack of transparency &
often hidden costs.!
W H Y 1 . K I S S#
Audience list creation in GA !
only limited by your imagination.!
W H Y ? 1 . K I S S#
Audience list targeting, management
& insights in Adwords!
W H Y ? 2 . D A T A
E X C H A N G E C R E A T E S I N S I G H T#
Some optimization insights can only
be generated by combining data from
different sources in one view.!
e.g. Adding New Visitor % or Bounce
rate to the Keyword report in Adwords!
GA data can be used to configure
Automatic bidding rules in Adwords.!
W H Y ? 2 . D A T A
E X C H A N G E C R E A T E S I N S I G H T#My favorites in the GA Adwords report:!
- Campaign Treemap analysis!
- The New, Ad Sitelink Report !
- Bid Adjustment impact report!
- Hour of day analysis!
- Search Queries !
Tip: add keyword as second dimension!
W H Y ? 3 . A G I L E
M A R K E T I N G#
GA & Adwords are a powerful couple,
but without a Strategy child with DNA
elements of Content, Design Thinking &
Persuasion you’ll never become truly
successful. Enabling employees &
teams to collaborate & experiment in all
3 area’s will create lasting success.!
User Experience!Content!
Experiments!Persuasion!
Efficiency!
Traffic!Quantity!
Traffic!Quality!
Analytics & Adwords a DNS Belgium case
As a small business owner or entrepreneur with little knowledge about web or domain names I become inspired, look up & register new or additional website domains because DNS Belgium has triggered me to investigate & helped me to understand the complex world of domain names & digital marketing through well targeted & relevant communication. !
Campaign goal as !Epic User Story !(Who, What, Why)!
The 3 roles of DNS Belgium!
INSPIRE! HELP! ACTIVATE!
In Google metric terms this would be!!
# # #Acquisition# # # # #Behavior # # # #Conversion!
© These Days Y & R
© These Days Y & R
Acquisition!
schoenmakerij.vlaanderen! blue-bike.be!
What do we need to show to inspire customers?
Banner Ad template prototype!What triggers inspiration?!!
- Title: ‘Webdomein’ (?) van de week? !
- Domein URL: bv http://schoenmakerij.vlaanderen!
- Interesting picture/grab of website/domein van de week?!
- Authority: Logo DNS Belgium!
We show good and inspiring examples, stories of domain names & websites.!
Landing page mockup!Review : Inspire!
We want to help customers in choosing a domain name.!What information do they really need?!!How do we explain this in such a way so that every visitor understands?!
Landing page Review: Help & Educate!
“<teller> ondernemers waren u al voor! Twijfel niet langer want elke dag worden er 98 domeinnamen geregistreerd in België. Kijk snel of uw domeinnaam nog beschikbaar is.”!!
Landing page Review:!!Activate!Persuasion Hypothesis!!
Acquisition!
Acquisition!
General Traffic overview!
Google & Ligatus provide about 70% of all traffic to the
‘campaign’-landingpages!
PAID!
UN
PAID!
Ads – Never be boring - 12 week campaign!
1!
GDN Ads / NL-FR / Mobile-Desktop!
o The campaign performed best on mobile: Conversions are 188% cheaper, Click conversion rate is 53% higher. !
o French campaigns are doing slightly better, however we must keep in mind that we didn’t do FR campaigns each week. !
GDN Ad / format performance!
- Best Performing format = 728x90!- Lowest cost/converted click!- Low CPC!- High volume!
!
© These Days Y & R
© These Days Y & R
Behaviour!
Custom report!
Campaign quality remains stable over time!
© These Days Y & R
© These Days Y & R
Conversions!
Ad/LP Creative optimisations#
Overall reduction in cost / converted click over the 12 campaign weeks!
• Cost / Converted click is 59 % cheaper in week 12 compared to week 1 !
• Week 11 performed best due to media/bid optimizations and attractive ads (higher CTR)!
Conversions by Paid traffic sources#
Paid Media channels GDN vs. Ligatus"
Ligatus Impressions: 22.475.805#Clicks: 9.285#Conversions: 2383#Avg. CPC: € 0,81#Avg. CPM: € 0,35#Avg. CPA: € 3,35#
#GDNImpressions: 21.974.615#Clicks: 35.673#Conversions: 6689 #Avg. CPC: € 0,44#Avg. CPM: € 0,72#Avg. CPA: € 2,36#!
Concluding TakeAway Tips
© JBC
1 . G A & A D W O R D S A R E A P E R F E C T C O U P L E "
2 . B U T O N L Y B E C O M E A H A P P Y F A M I L Y W H E N Y O U " A D D U X , C O N T E N T , P E R S U A S I O N , C R E A T I V I T Y "
3 . D A T A E X C H A N G E & U S A G E A L L O W S O P T I M I S A T I O N" B A S E D O N P R O G R A M M A T I C P R I N C I P L E S "
47
4 . A G I L E , M U L T I D I C I P L I N A R Y , C O - C R E A T I V E T E A M S C R E A T E L A S T I N G K N O W L E D G E & S U C C E S "
RESIST THE USUAL
5 . N E V E R S T O P L E A R N I N G A N D E N C O U R A G E Q U E S T I O N S "
Thank you
Questions? get in touch.#
Raphael Nolens, Digital Change Architect https://www.linkedin.com/in/nolenstwitter: @[email protected]#
Niky Patyn, Head of Performancehttps://www.linkedin.com/in/[email protected]#