Facebook Advertising 101

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1. Facebook Advertising 101 Emily Knox Social Media Strategist

description

Your guide to the basics of Facebook Ads, focussing on Marketplace units.

Transcript of Facebook Advertising 101

Page 1: Facebook Advertising 101

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Facebook Advertising 101

Emily KnoxSocial Media Strategist

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DOCUMENT DOCUMENT DOCUMENT DOCUMENT OUTLINE.OUTLINE.OUTLINE.OUTLINE.

1. Facebook Advertising – Ad Units Explained 2. Briefing Facebook Ad Campaigns3. Budget Recommendations4. ROI & Measures of Success

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3.SOCIAL MEDIA.FACEBOOK AD UNITS

01.01.01.01.FACEBOOK FACEBOOK FACEBOOK FACEBOOK AD UNITS AD UNITS AD UNITS AD UNITS

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Premium & Marketplace Ads

FACEBOOK AD UNITS

• Facebook Ads can be split into two separate types depending on budget and booking mechanism.

• Premium Ads Premium Ads Premium Ads Premium Ads • Appear on homepage: where users spend most time. • Booked directly through Facebook, minimum spend

Premium Ad Premium Ad Premium Ad Premium Ad PlacementsPlacementsPlacementsPlacements

• Booked directly through Facebook, minimum spend (POA but expect upwards of $15k), 1-3 day campaigns.

• Best if your objectives are impressions/awareness.

• Marketplace AdsMarketplace AdsMarketplace AdsMarketplace Ads• Appear elsewhere within the site eg. Facebook Pages,

Event Pages, Profile Pages etc.• Booked via an auction mechanic (eg. advertisers bid on

CPC or CPM, hence the term ‘Marketplace’), no minimum spend, unlimited campaign duration.

• Great for maximising budget, increasing page likes and encouraging engagement.

• This presentation will focus on This presentation will focus on This presentation will focus on This presentation will focus on Marketplace AdsMarketplace AdsMarketplace AdsMarketplace Ads....Marketplace Marketplace Marketplace Marketplace Ad Placements Ad Placements Ad Placements Ad Placements

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What Are Ads & Sponsored Stories?

FACEBOOK AD UNITS

• Marketplace units belong to one of two categories, Ads & Sponsored stories.

• Ads Ads Ads Ads ---- Voice of businessVoice of businessVoice of businessVoice of business• The advertiser has full control of all elements of the ad,

including the title of the ad, the image and the copy.

Marketplace Ad Formats

including the title of the ad, the image and the copy.

• Sponsored stories Sponsored stories Sponsored stories Sponsored stories ---- Voice of friendVoice of friendVoice of friendVoice of friend• Advertisers don’t create the content of the ad: they are

based on organic content on Facebook, created by Facebook users and not advertisers.

• Each time someone interacts (likes your page, comments on a post) with one of your Facebook entities a story is created.

• You can sponsor these stories – turning them into Sponsored Stories.

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Ad & Sponsored Story Placements

FACEBOOK AD UNITS

• Different Ad & Sponsored Story units are eligible to appear in different areas of Facebook:

• Right-Hand Column

• Desktop News Feed• Desktop News Feed

• Mobile News Feed

• Search Bar

RightRightRightRight----Hand Ad ColumnHand Ad ColumnHand Ad ColumnHand Ad Column

Mobile News Mobile News Mobile News Mobile News FeedFeedFeedFeed

Search BarSearch BarSearch BarSearch Bar

Desktop News FeedDesktop News FeedDesktop News FeedDesktop News Feed

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7.FACEBOOK AD UNITS

Page Post AdPage Post AdPage Post AdPage Post AdPage posts that have been

Page Like AdPage Like AdPage Like AdPage Like AdLinks to a page on Facebook. Headline text must be name of Facebook page.Objective: increase page likes.

Marketplace Ad Formats

Domain Ad Domain Ad Domain Ad Domain Ad Links to a website. Brand can control headline text.Objective: website referrals.Placement: right-hand column.

Page posts that have been sponsored to increase reach. Objective: engagement with content .Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

Objective: increase page likes.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

App Ad App Ad App Ad App Ad Links to an app (on a Facebook page tab) rather than a page.Objective: interaction with app.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

Event Ad Event Ad Event Ad Event Ad Links to an native Facebook Event than a page.Objective: Event RSVPs.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

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8.FACEBOOK AD UNITS

Mobile App Install AdMobile App Install AdMobile App Install AdMobile App Install AdClicks on the ad takes the user directly to the Apple App Store or Google Play, depending on which mobile operating system the app is for.Objective: mobile app installs.Placement: mobile news feed.

Marketplace Ad Formats

Sponsored resultSponsored resultSponsored resultSponsored resultSponsored results are sponsored search results, and appear in the type ahead at the top of the Facebook interface. The image will be pulled from the Facebook entity you are promoting (Page or App), and you can point the ad to any tab on your Facebook page.Objective: traffic to your Facebook page or app.Placement: search bar.

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9.FACEBOOK AD UNITS

Page Like Sponsored StoryPage Like Sponsored StoryPage Like Sponsored StoryPage Like Sponsored StoryThese sponsor the Facebook action of a page like.Objective: increase page likes.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

Marketplace Ad Formats

Page Post Like Sponsored StoryPage Post Like Sponsored StoryPage Post Like Sponsored StoryPage Post Like Sponsored StoryThese sponsor the action of liking, commenting or sharing content from a Facebook page.Objective: engagement with content.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

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10.FACEBOOK AD UNITS

Open Graph Sponsored Story Open Graph Sponsored Story Open Graph Sponsored Story Open Graph Sponsored Story Facebook has a set of built-in actions and objects. Some of the most

Marketplace Ad Formats

Facebook has a set of built-in actions and objects. Some of the most common actions are like, comment and share and some of the most common objects are posts, photos and links.

With Open Graph however, you can build an app that integrates with Facebook, giving you the opportunity to define your own actions and objects.

As users use your app, they will generate stories - and these can be sponsored just like any of the built-in story types.

Objective: engagement with Facebook app.Placement: desktop/mobile news feed, right-hand column.

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11.SOCIAL MEDIA.BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS

02.02.02.02.BRIEFING BRIEFING BRIEFING BRIEFING FACEBOOK FACEBOOK FACEBOOK FACEBOOK ADSADSADSADS

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The Facebook Ad Process

BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS

• A mix of Marketplace Ads & Sponsored Stories is the most effective, efficient and targeted way to grow & engage your Facebook fan-base.

• The Facebook Advertising ProcessThe Facebook Advertising ProcessThe Facebook Advertising ProcessThe Facebook Advertising Process1. Targeting your audience based on demographic, 1. Targeting your audience based on demographic, interests, location, and social connections.2. Multivariate testing of multiple artwork and copy to determine which messaging combinations resonate best with your target.3. Daily bid management, culling underperforming ads and re-investing into more successful creative iterations.4. Reporting on:

• Effectiveness eg. fans acquired vs target• ROI eg. cost per fan • Page Activity eg. contribution to engagement levels• Fan-base demographic shifts and swings• Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand.

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Facebook Ad Briefing Considerations

BRIEFING FACEBOOK ADS

• TimeframeTimeframeTimeframeTimeframe eg.:• The promotional period for a Facebook competition.• The in-store activation period.

• Target demographic Target demographic Target demographic Target demographic eg:• Mums of kids 5-12.• Women 25-34 in Australia who love snacking.

• Background Background Background Background eg:• Details of the NPD, promotion, activation the media spend

is supporting. • Key message, single-minded proposition or benefit.

• Objectives Objectives Objectives Objectives eg.:• Grow the fan-base. • Women 25-34 in Australia who love snacking.

• Busy/stressed working mums.

• KPIsKPIsKPIsKPIs eg.:• 10k new page likes.• An Engagement Rate 50% above the Facebook average.• Reach of 1M AU F18-34.• 5k competition entries.

• Grow the fan-base.• Increase engagement on the page.• Increase reach of an NPD product message.• Encourage Facebook competition entries.

• BudgetBudgetBudgetBudget eg.:• The total amount allocated towards the Facebook Ad

campaign. (Budget will needed to be allocated to creative and management (20% media spend) from this amount.)

• The amount of pure media spend required. (Additional budget will be added on for creative/management.)

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14.SOCIAL MEDIA.FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS

03.03.03.03.FACEBOOKFACEBOOKFACEBOOKFACEBOOKAD AD AD AD BUDGETSBUDGETSBUDGETSBUDGETS

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Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations

• Campaign spend is dependent on objectives and previous Facebook Advertising results.

• Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement)Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement)Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement)Objective: Boost Edgerank (Reach & Engagement)• Facebook pages should run at least 4 Facebook Ad

campaigns annually to optimise their Edgerank* (their

FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS

campaigns annually to optimise their Edgerank* (their likelihood of appearing in fans’ news feeds/reach).

• A good guide to a base budget (before any campaigns are allocated for) for Facebook Advertising is 25% of your total fan cost to date:

FormulaFormulaFormulaFormula(Total Fans x Average CPA) x 0.25 = Base Annual

Media Spend

ExampleExampleExampleExample(66.7k x $1 = $66,700.00) x 0.25 = $16,675.00

*Read more about Edgerank: http://edgerankchecker.com/blog/2012/04/what-is-edgerank/

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Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations

• Objective: Increase Page LikesObjective: Increase Page LikesObjective: Increase Page LikesObjective: Increase Page Likes• Many Facebook Ad campaigns are designed to increase

page likes, thereby increasing your Facebook database for all future messaging.

• Set the right budget by nominating how many fans you require eg. +10k and your average CPA (Cost Per

FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS

require eg. +10k and your average CPA (Cost Per Acquisition):

FormulaFormulaFormulaFormulaGoal New Page Likes x Av. CPA = Pure Media Spend

ExampleExampleExampleExample10,000 New Page Likes x $1.00 = $10,000.00

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Facebook Ad Budget Recommendations

• Objective: Competition EntriesObjective: Competition EntriesObjective: Competition EntriesObjective: Competition Entries• If you’re running a Facebook promotion your Facebook

Ad objective may be competition entries. • Allocate the right budget by nominating the number of

desired entries eg. 5k and use the following formula::

FACEBOOK AD BUDGET RECOMMENDATIONS

FormulaFormulaFormulaFormulaDesired Entries------------------- x Av. CPC = Pure Media Spend Av. Conv. Rate

Example Example Example Example 5,000-------- x $0.49 = $4,016.39 61%

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18.SOCIAL MEDIA.FACEBOOK ADS: ROI & MEASURES OF SUCCESS

04.04.04.04.ROI & ROI & ROI & ROI & SUCCESSSUCCESSSUCCESSSUCCESSMEASURESMEASURESMEASURESMEASURES

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ROI & Measures Of Success

• Effectiveness• % of target fans acquired.• % of target competition entries.• CTR above 0.15% = Good.• Conversion Rate above 50% = Excellent.

• ROI• CPA (Cost Per Acquisition):

FACEBOOK ADS: ROI & MEASURES OF SUCCESS

• CPA (Cost Per Acquisition): • Based on past campaigns: (eg. average $1.00); • Facebook average: $2.00.

• Page Activity• ER (Socialbakers Engagement Rate) based on Page Size eg.

50k-100k fans = 0.19%.

• Demographic Shifts• Fan-base demographic shifts and swings eg. AU F18-34

60% -> 75%.

• Fan Insights• Insights into tastes and interests of fans of your brand eg.

‘Competitive’ & Friends of Fans more likely to Like page than Mums & ‘Positive Outlook.’

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THANKTHANKTHANKTHANKYOU.YOU.YOU.YOU.

For further information, please contact For further information, please contact For further information, please contact For further information, please contact us at the following details:us at the following details:us at the following details:us at the following details:

Emily Emily Emily Emily KnoxKnoxKnoxKnoxSocial Media [email protected]+61 2 8917 7900