Digital Marketing for Designers

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Digital Marketing For DESIGNERS

Transcript of Digital Marketing for Designers

Page 1: Digital Marketing for Designers

Digital Marketing For DESIGNERS

Page 2: Digital Marketing for Designers

Tim Robertson RGD

Page 3: Digital Marketing for Designers

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Page 4: Digital Marketing for Designers

Brand

Brand Evolution

LogoBrand

Promise

Brand Values

Brand Personality

Page 5: Digital Marketing for Designers

The Design Continuum

Brand

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

MagnetContent

Marketing

Social Media Advertising

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

Webinars

PPTs

Landing Pages

Videos

Sales Videos

Product Videos

ReportsBlog

Page 6: Digital Marketing for Designers

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

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Logical Reasonable Rational

Analytical

Emotional

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Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thinking

Neocortex

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Social Emotional

Mid Brain (Limbic)

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“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)

Shiny Object

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Designing pitch here!

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Designed pitch with Croc brain in mind

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• Limited Processing Power • Short Attention Span • New Ideas - threat! • Radically Summarizes • Survival

Characteristics of the Croc Brain

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• Fast or Moving • Novel • Concrete • Visual • High Contrast

Croc Brain Likes

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• Link Bait • Lead Magnets • Sticky Headlines • Intriguing Offer

Croc Brain Likes

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Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Page 18: Digital Marketing for Designers

$500M

Page 19: Digital Marketing for Designers

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Page 20: Digital Marketing for Designers

Glengarry Glen Ross

Alec Baldwin

Page 21: Digital Marketing for Designers

Sales Process

Page 22: Digital Marketing for Designers

“Um…”

Page 23: Digital Marketing for Designers

Sales ProcessCollateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

MagnetContent

Marketing

Social Media Advertising

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

Webinars

Landing Pages

Videos

Sales Videos

Product Videos

ReportsBlog

PPTs

Page 24: Digital Marketing for Designers

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

Lead Magnet

Social Media Advertising

Sales Process

Webinar Demo Sale

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

Page 25: Digital Marketing for Designers

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

White Paper

Landing Page

Sales Process

Product Video

Trial Sale

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

Page 26: Digital Marketing for Designers

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

Lead Magnet

Social Media Campaign

Sales Process

Sales Video

Sample Subscription

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

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Sales Process Problems• Not mapped out (no schematic) • Elements that are incomplete • Order is wrong, or broken • No ownership • Inconsistent branding

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Sales Process is Important!

• Gets Leads!

• Gets Sales!

• Generates Revenue!

• Grows the Company!

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Prospect

Lead Client/

Customer

Qualified Lead

Optin

SOLD

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Opt-In

Sale

A step closer !

!

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Conversion Rate 15%

That step closer is a “conversion”

!

Sale

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Upworthy

This Kid Just Died. What He Left Behind Is Wondtacular.

Zachary Sobiek“My Last Days”

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Croc

yep!

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Mid

$$

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Neocortex

$$$

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Sale

“Organic”“Paid Traffic”

Prospects

Traffic

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Landing Page

Sale

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Opt-In Newsletter

Sale

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Sale

Quiz

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Sale

Webinar

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Sale

Trial

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Sale

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why are all the women wearing

blue pants?

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Consistency Increases Conversion

Rates!

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?

AD

Landing Page

Word

News Letter

WebinarPPT

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Website Email Book Room

EcoLodge

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Website

Sales Video

Webinar

Email

DemoSale

Ad Landing Page

Newsletter

EcoLodge

Accounting Software Platform

Book Room

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Amazon Book

Website

Sales Video

Sales Page

Webinar

Email

Quiz

DemoSale

Book Room

Ad Landing Page

Newsletter

Free TrialSubscription

EcoLodge

Golf Instruction Course

Accounting Software Platform

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3What is…?

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“Um…”

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Lifetime Customer ValueRoughly defined, LCV is the projected revenue that a customer will generate during their lifetime.

Investment Advisor

$1800 x 10 = $18,000

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Customer Acquisition CostFor example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00.

Investment Advisor

$10,000 on Marketing 10 Customers = $1,000

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Conversion Rate (of Anything)

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Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

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50

1,000

Report

50

Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 5%

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1,000 Conversion Rate: 30%

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“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)

Shiny Object

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300

1,000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

Lead Magnet

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Social Emotional

Mid Brain (Limbic)

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300 100

1,000

$7

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales

Killer Problem Solver

Lead Magnet

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Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thought

Neocortex

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300 100 30

1,000

$7 $3,000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales $90,000 Sales

Core Product

Killer Problem Solver

Lead Magnet

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300 100 30

1,000

$7 $2000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales $60,000 Sales

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300 100 30

1,000

$3.00 $450

300 Downloads

Conversion Rate: 30%

$300 Sales $13,500 Bookings

Weekend Offer

Insiders Guide Kindle

Apple Google Play

Guide

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Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

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Logo

Client

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Logo

Tim Client

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Logo

PPT

Tim Client

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Logo

PPT

“By the way…what is your

SALES PROCESS?

Tim Client

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“Do you have a

Mailing List?

Tim Client

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Tim Client

!

40,000 “Yes..I believe it’s

..or something like that.”

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Tim Client

“How about doing an online course?”

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“It’s not

40,000 it’s actually

400,000!”

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Tim

• Newsletter • Free E-Book • MP3 Download - $ • Online Course - $$ • Live Seminar Training - $$$ • Personal Coaching - $$$$

Product Ladder

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!

1,200,000!”

“It’s not

400,000 it’s actually

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1,200,000 x $15,000

$18Billion

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Tim

$$$$$$

20%!

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“By the way…what is your

SALES PROCESS?

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Question .