Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to...

25
MINDY CONE GETCREATIVEJUICE.COM IG: @MINDY_CREATIVEJUICE FB: /GETCREATIVEJUICE Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog

Transcript of Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to...

Page 1: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

MINDY CONE

G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E . C O M I G : @ M I N D Y _ C R E A T I V E J U I C E

F B : / G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E

Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog

Page 2: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

R E A D Y T O S T A R T M A K I N G M O N E Y O N Y O U R B L O G ?

T O D A Y W E W I L L D I S C U S S P R A C T I C A L A N D A C T I O N B A S E D A D V I C E T O K I C K S T A R T O R S T R E N G T H E N Y O U R

M O N E T I Z A T I O N S T R A T E G Y F O R Y O U R B L O G .

H O W T O W O R K W I T H I N D E P E N D E N T B R A N D S , A F F I L I A T E S , B L O G G E R C A M P A I G N A G E N C I E S , S E L L Y O U R O W N B A N N E R

A D S , U S E D I S P L A Y A D S F R O M A D N E T W O R K S , A N D N A V I G A T E T H E C O M P L E X W O R L D O F L A Y E R E D A D S .

D E V E L O P A S T R A T E G Y T H A T I S B E S T F O R Y O U A N D S T A R T

M A K I N G M O N E Y !

Develop a strategy that works for YOU!

Page 3: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

DIVERSIFY

Affiliate Links

Display Ads

Blogger Campaign Agencies

Social Campaigns

Products & Services

Independent Brand

Campaigns

Page 4: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

W H A T I S A N A F F I L I A T E L I N K A N D H O W D O E S I T G E N E R A T E I N C O M E ?

Affiliate Links

Page 5: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Beginner Advanced

AMAZON Pick Your Plum

Share a Sale CJ Affiliate

AFFILIATE LINKS

STRATEGY High Traffic Posts First { Use your GA for the last 6mo}

Target your product heavy posts All new posts

Social Sharing of Links

Note: Follow FTC disclosure regulations

Page 6: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

T H E R E A R E L O T S O F M I S C E L L A N E O U S W A Y S T O G E N E R A T E I N C O M E I N R E L A T I O N T O Y O U R B L O G

Product & Services

Page 7: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Product & Services

-  Online Product Sales {Etsy} -  Live Product Sales {Events, Craft Fairs, ect} -  Books & Ebooks -  Online Classes {ex: Atly} -  Hosting / Planning Live Events {Craft Nights} -  Writing for Other Blogs & Brands*

STRATEGY Brainstorm ways that you can use your

talents to break into the product / services space and diversify your income

to support your blog

Page 8: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

T H I R D P A R T Y B L O G A G E N C I E S B R I D G E T H E G A P B E T W E E N B L O G G E R S A N D B R A N D S M A K I N G I T

E A S Y T O B U I L D Y O U R P O R T F O L I O W H I L E G E N E R A T I N G I N C O M E .

Blogger Campaign Agencies

Page 9: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Pros Cons

�  Work with brands you may not otherwise have the opportunity to

�  Brands are ready to work with bloggers and understand the value of our influence

�  Build your portfolio of brand partnerships so you can move into independent brand opps

�  Payment is often non-negotiable

�  Payment is more number/traffic based than branding based

�  Not building a direct relationship with the brand

�  Some require contracts, have a no-compete clause, or require you to run their display ads

Campaign Agencies

Page 10: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

-  T A P I N F L U E N C E -  P O L L I N A T E M E D I A -  S O C I A L F A B R I C {COLLECTIVE BIAS}

-  I Z E A {SOCIAL SPARK}

-  C O L L E C T I V E L Y -  F E D E R A T E D M E D I A -  L I N Q I A -  P O P S U G A R -  M O M I T F O R W A R D

-  G L A M -  B L O G H E R -  C L E V E R G I R L S -  S I T S G I R L S -  W E A V E {POLLINATE}

-  S V E R V E -  B L U E P R I N T S O C I A L -  M A R K E R L Y -  M O M C E N T R A L -  S O C I A L C H O R U S

Agencies & Platforms

STRATEGY Choose 2-3 agencies to Join

Page 11: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own
Page 12: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

P R O D U C T O R P A Y M E N T M A D E I N E X C H A N G E F O R P R O M O T I O N V I A S O C I A L C H A N N E L S

I Z E A

I N F L U E N S T E R B L O G H E R

B Z Z A G E N T C L E V E R G I R L S

Social Campaigns

Page 13: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

S O M E O F T H E M O S T C O M M O N L Y A S K E D Q U E S T I O N S :

H O W D O I S T A R T W O R K I N G W I T H B R A N D S ? H O W D O I S E T M Y P R I C E F O R S P O N S O R E D P O S T S ?

Independent Brands

Page 14: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

How do I start working with brands?

T I P S A N D T R I C K S

G O T O C O N F E R E N C E S & G E T F A C E T I M E !

P A Y A T T E N T I O N T O B R A N D S T H A T L I K E W O R K I N G W I T H B L O G G E R S & S E E K T H E M O U T

B E A G O O D S T A L K E R

A S K F R I E N D S F O R C O N T A C T S * {*BUT DON’T TAKE IT PERSONAL IF THEY DON’T SHARE THEM…BUT IT DOESN’T HURT TO ASK}

H A V E A M E D I A K I T & C A S E S T U D Y R E A D Y {CASE STUDIES & FOLLOWING UP ARE THE BEST WAY TO GO FROM A ONE TIME GIG TO A LONG

TERM RELATIONSHIP – CHECK IN WITH THE BRAND EVERY 2 MONTHS OR SO}

R E S E A R C H L O C A L C O M P A N I E S

U S E & P R O M O T E T H E I R P R O D U C T S I F I T I S A U T H E N T I C

{IF YOU DON’T WANT TO DO A FULL POST ABOUT IT, SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND TAG THEM}

Page 15: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

T A K E Y O U R T I M E T O F I N D T H E R I G H T P E R S O N {TITLES TO LOOK FOR: PR, SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER, MARKETING}

A D D R E S S T H E M B Y F I R S T N A M E W H E N P O S S I B L E {AND SPELL IT RIGHT!}

S H O R T E M A I L S ! {BREAK IT UP INTO 2-3 SENTENCE PARAGRAPHS}

P 1 – K I S S B U T T P 2 – E L E V A T O R P I T C H

{BURLESQUE SHOW. NOT A STRIP SHOW. REVEAL JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT.}

P 3 - R E L E V A N T L I N K S F O R E X A M P L E S O F Y O U R W O R K {ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE POSTS THAT ALREADY USE THEIR PRODUCTS}

E N D W I T H A Q U E S T I O N {WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO SEND OVER MY MEDIA KIT?, WHICH IDEA ARE YOU MORE INTERESTED IN?}

F O L L O W U P {BE PERSISTENT BUT NOT ANNOYING}

Email Tips & Tricks

Page 16: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

I S I T A L L A B O U T T H E N U M B E R S ? N O T A L W A Y S .

N I C H E B L O G G E R S

O N P O I N T B R A N D I N G K N O W I N G Y O U R A U D I E N C E

A U T H E N T I C E N G A G E M E N T

B R A N D / P R O D U C T F I T W I T H Y O U R S I T E

When BRANDING Overides TRAFFIC

Page 17: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

How to Price Sponsored Posts

A few different strategies

Use CPM rates (cost per ‘mille’- which means cost per thousand) combined with Pageviews or Total reach

Use agency payments as a baseline (but charge more)

Test the water – you never know until you ask. Leave room for negotiation if you say the first number, and always negotiate if

they say the first number.

Factor in hourly rate and cost of materials

Use previous sponsored posts as a baseline

Page 18: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

C P M & P A G E V I E W S ( I N 1 M O )

1 0 0 , 0 0 0 P V $ 2 - $ 4 C P M R A T E

( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 2 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 2 0 0 ( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 4 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 4 0 0

P R I C E R A N G E F O R B L O G G E R W I T H 1 0 0 K = $ 2 0 0 - $ 4 0 0 *

* T H I S I S Y O U R P R O F I T M A R G I N *

C A L C U L A T E / E S T I M A T E H O U R L Y R A T E A N D C O S T O F M A T E R I A L S

{ A B L O G G E R W I T H 5 0 K - $ 1 0 0 - $ 2 0 0 }

Pricing Model 1

Page 19: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

C P M & T O T A L R E A C H GOOD FOR PEOPLE WITH STRONGER SOCIAL MEDIA THAN PV

U M V ( U N I Q U E M O V I S I T O R S ) + S O C I A L M E D I A

F O L L O W E R S = T O T A L R E A C H EACH FOLLOWER ON EACH PLATFORM = 1

BLOGGER WITH 100K PV, 60K UMV, SOCIAL COMBINED TO 60K

TOTAL REACH = 120K

USE THIS NUMBER WITH CPM IN MODEL ONE INSTEAD OF PV

(120,000 X 2) / 1000 = $240 (120,000 X 4) / 1000 = $480 PRICE RANGE $240 - $480 *

*AGAIN THIS IS YOUR PROFIT MARGIN – CALCULATE HOURLY RATE & COST OF MATERIALS AS WELL

Pricing Model 2

Page 20: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

T R A F F I C O N P A S T S P O N S O R E D P O S T S & C P M

P U L L D A T A F R O M G A O F Y O U R T O P 5 - 1 0 S P O N S O R E D P O S T S F R O M T H E L A S T 6 M O N T H S

Pricing Model 3

Page 21: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Pricing Model 3 cont.

(Traffic rounded to nearest thousand & numbers changed for ease of modeling/privacy)

After some research with this model I found that the CPM rate Of $25 is considered for a premium blogger, but also a common

Rate among those willing to discuss it.

6mo Traffic x CPM rate (/1000) = Value of Post

(63,000 x $25) / 1000 = $1575 (22,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 550 (17,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 425 (16,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 400 (11,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 275

AVG VALUE $645

+Cost of Materials + Hourly Rate *could also be done with your top 10 sponsored posts resulting in a lower average value

Page 22: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

T R A F F I C B A S E D D I S P L A Y / B A N N E R A D S T H A T A R E G E N E R A T E D F O R Y O U R S I T E B Y A D N E T W O R K S T H A T

P A Y A C P M T O Y O U R S I T E

Ad Networks

Page 23: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Terminology

�  ‘Above the fold’

�  CPM Cost per ‘mille’

(means per thousand pageviews)

�  CPC Cost per click

Page 24: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

Networks Advanced

�  Google Adsense* (premium – Google Ad Exchange)

�  Sovrn (Formerly Lijit / Federated Media)

�  Glam (contract) �  BlogHer (contract) �  Rivit �  Burst Media �  Media.net (yahoo and bing) �  Infolinks (in text link ads) �  SayMedia �  PulsePoint

�  Layering your Ads to backfill

�  Goggle DFP �  The Blogger Network

(80-100k min) �  Adthrive (waiting list

100K min)

Ad Networks

Page 25: Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog · monetization strategy for your blog. how to work with independent brands, affiliates, blogger campaign agencies, sell your own

IG : @MINDY_CREAT IVEJUICE

EMAIL : GETCREAT IVEJUICE@GMAIL .COM

FB / GETCREAT IVEJUICE

QUESTIONS