Demystify your Data: Digital Measurement & Analytics
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Transcript of Demystify your Data: Digital Measurement & Analytics
Demystify Your Data
KeyMedia Solutions February 2017
Agenda
Welcome & Introductions Google Video Stream Introduction to the NumbersFacebook & Twitter AnalyticsGoogle AnalyticsDetermining Digital Media ROIQuestion & Answer Session
From Google...
Intro to Benchmarks & Terminology
Click Through Rate
CTR
The ratio of clicks to an external URL to the number of impressions of the Ad.
CTR = Clicks/Impressions
1 Google Rich Media Gallery Benchmarks (11/2016) - http://www.richmediagallery.com/tools/benchmarks2 Innovid 2016 Global Video Benchmarks Report - http://bit.ly/1KqCUNB3 2016 Digital Advertising Benchmarks Aggregated Report from CJ Media - http://bit.ly/2lipAzf
Industry AveragesDisplay: 0.07%1
Video: 0.5%2
Facebook Image: 0.72%3
Facebook Video: 2.21%3
Search: 1.73%3
KeyMedia Solutions AveragesDisplay: 0.29%Video: 0.3%Facebook Image: 1%Facebook Video: 1.26%Search: 2.77%
Video Completion Rate
VCR
The number of times a video played to its completion. For example, a 30-second video that plays for its full 30 seconds.
Video Completions / Video Plays
Industry Average
65.77%1
KeyMedia Solutions Average
46.70%1 Google Rich Media Gallery Benchmarks (11/2016) - http://www.richmediagallery.com/tools/benchmarks
View Through Rate
VTR
Percentage of skippable ads that had engaged views. (This metric is calculated by dividing engaged views by skips shown.)
VTR = Engaged Views / Impressions (including skips)
KeyMedia Solutions Average
6.1%
Percent Ad Viewed
PAV
Percentage of the video watched by users. For example, if users watch an average of 20 seconds of 30-second ad, then the average view rate is reported as 66.66 percent.
Average Seconds View / Total Ad Seconds
Industry Average
83.3%1
1 Innovid 2016 Global Video Benchmarks Report - http://bit.ly/1KqCUNB
Bounce Rate
Bounce Rate is the percentage of single-page sessions (i.e. sessions in which the person left your site from the entrance page without interacting with the page).
Industry AveragesRetail: 34%1
Multichannel: 32%1
Online Only: 40%1
Travel: 44%1
Overall: 36%1
1 Source: Wolfgang Ditital E-commerce KPI Benchmarks Study (2016) - www.wolfgangdigital.com/blog/ecommerce-kpi-benchmarks-2016/
Average Session Duration
The total duration of all sessions (in seconds) / number of sessions.
Commonly Referred to as: Time on Site Average Visit
Length
Industry AveragesRetail: 00.03.491
Multichannel: 00.03.441
Online Only: 00.04.021
Travel: 00.02.361
Overall: 00.03.371
1 Source: Wolfgang Ditital E-commerce KPI Benchmarks Study (2016) - www.wolfgangdigital.com/blog/ecommerce-kpi-benchmarks-2016/
Pages per Session
The average number of pages viewed per session.
Commonly Referred to as: Pages per Visit
Industry AveragesRetail: 61
Multichannel: 61
Online Only: 61
Travel: 31
Overall: 61
1 Source: Wolfgang Ditital E-commerce KPI Benchmarks Study (2016) - www.wolfgangdigital.com/blog/ecommerce-kpi-benchmarks-2016/
Conversion Rate
CVR
Conversion rate is calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad clicks that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 clicks, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.
Conversions / Number of Ad Clicks
Industry Average
1.4%1
Social Media Analytics
Social Media Analytics
Importance and Benefit Insights
Audience Content Competitive Benchmarking
Measurement Community Responsiveness Reach & Engagement Traffic
Facebook Insights
Page Insights Overview Likes Reach Page Views Action on Page Posts People
Facebook Insights
Publishing Tools
Facebook Insights
Competitor Insights
Facebook Insights
Audience Insights
Facebook Measurement
Ads Manager/Power Editor
Twitter Insights
Twitter Page Analytics
Twitter Measurement
Ads Analytics
Monitor Feedback
ReviewsMentionsReplies & Comments
Website Analytics
Website Analytics
Use some type of system that easily monitors and reports on your website
Google Analytics GoingUp StatCounter Piwik Jetpack for Wordpress Visual Visitor Uptrends
Google Analytics
Page Insights Visitors, time on site, bounce rate, pages per visit,
new visits, geography Site mapping (user flow, heat maps) SEO/Webmaster
GRINGOTTS Wizzarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Audience Insights
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Google Analytics
Acquisition Insights Paid vs organic Referrals Social media
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Quidditch Cup Promo
Valentine's Vault Offer
Junior Accounts
1st Month Free
August Interest Rate Special
Holiday Loans
May Email Special
Free Gift w/ New Account
March Madness
CD Rate Offer
Google Analytics
AdWords Account Linking accounts KPI’s:
Sessions by keyword Bounce Rates Time on Site Conversions
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
gringotts bank
gringotts vault
bank vault
bank in london
goblin vault diagon alley
secure vault
protect my treasure
london vault for rent
no fee bank diagon alley
Goal & Event Tracking
Micro Time on Site or Pages Per Visit Scroll percentage
Macro Form Completion (Secure a Vault) Checkout (Online Deposit) Leads (Open an Account, Consult a Goblin)
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Consult/Goblin
Online Deposit
Secure a Vault
Open
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Gringotts Wizarding Bank
Benchmarking (Audience)
Google Analytics Benchmarking Report Benchmarking allows you to compare your data
with aggregated industry data from other companies who share their data.
More than 1600 industry categories Geographic location Seven traffic size classifications
Benchmarking
Benchmarking
Benchmarking
Benchmarking
Reporting ROI
Goal: Awareness
Considerations Impressions are prioritized over clicks Tactics are selected based on reach Minimal call to action in creative will result
in a lower CTRHow to use benchmarks CTR results are typically at or slightly
below benchmarks Monitor engagement metrics such as Video
Completion Rate Calculate estimated website traffic from
campaign using CTR benchmarks
Goal: Action
Considerations The lower the funnel stage, the higher the
expected CTR Tactics are selected based on their ability
to convert Creative should have a strong Call to
ActionHow to use benchmarks Campaigns should perform at or above
benchmarks Underperformance may be a sign of an
issue with the Targeting, Creative, or Strategy
Calculate estimated conversions using CTR benchmarks and known or assumed conversion rates
Predicting Results
Estimated Website VisitsImpressions x CTR Benchmark = Visits
Estimated ConversionsVisits x Goal Conversion Rate = Conversions
Estimated Cost Per AcquisitionInvestment / Conversions = Cost Per Acquisition
Sample Website Visits1,000,000 Impressions x 1% CTR =
10,ooo Visits
Sample Conversions10,000 Visits x 1% GCR = 100
Conversions
Sample Cost Per Acquisition$10,000 Investment / 100 Conversions
= $100 Cost Per Acquisition
Calculating ROI
Return FormulaConversions x Goal Value = Return
Basic ROI FormulaROI = (Return - Investment) / Investment
Sample Return100 Conversions x $500 value =
$50,000
Sample ROI($50,000 - $10,000) / $10,000 = 400%
ROI
Recap
1.Google talked about how multi-device measurement works;
2.Introduction to terms, definitions and benchmarks;3.Overview of Facebook and Twitter organic and paid
insights;4.Breakdown of key metrics within Google Analytics;5.How to use the benchmarks in your planning and
estimations.
QUESTIONS?KeyMedia Solutions
(605) 215-5106keymediasolutions.com
@KeyMediaCEO