Content creators Express your ROI to Brands

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#BH13ROI Quantify Your ROI to Customers JULIE YAMAMOTO CMD, @JulieY

description

Bloggers and content creators of all types - learn how to express your ROI to brand and agencies as part of sponsored influencer programs.

Transcript of Content creators Express your ROI to Brands

Page 1: Content creators   Express your ROI to Brands

#BH13ROI

Quantify Your ROI to Customers

JULIE YAMAMOTOCMD, @JulieY

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#BH13ROI

A likely scenario …

• Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.”

• Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with.

• Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?”

• And you say …

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Know your audience targeting

• Demographic: Gender, age, geography• Psychographic: Behavioral information

that deepens our understanding of the audience

• Persona: Named individual who personifies the target

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Metrics that matter

• Metrics or analytics: Any data that shows marketing performance

• Impressions: Opportunity to view content• Reach: Individual users or social accounts reached by content• Engagement: User actions, such as clicks, likes, comments• CPM: Cost per 1,000 impressions• CPA: Cost per acquisition or sign up• Sentiment: Expressed as positive, negative or neutral, may be

reported in a quantitative or qualitative manner

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Know your key metrics

• Unique visitors: Expressed by day, week or month• Clickthroughs (CTs): User clicks on a specific call to action (CTA)• Click rate (CR) = Clicks to your content / Impressions x 100 .20% considered baseline/good • Clickthrough rate (CTR) = Clicks to brand / clicks to your content x

100 10% is highly desirable• Link tagging: Links with analytics tracking built in to the URL

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Know where you fit in the sales funnel

Awareness

Interest

Consideration

Preference

“Unboxing,” contestsMetrics: Impressions, reachSampling, couponingMetric: Engagement

Head-to-head product trialMetric: Engagement, clickthroughs to brand siteExclusive offers, bundlesMetric: Sales, CPA, sentiment

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Key elements of your proposal

• Introduce yourself and your community• What works well for you (examples)• What you plan to do, specifically• Measurable metrics that are expected• Cost

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Key elements of your recap report

Mandatory:• What you plan to do, specifically What you did• Measurable metrics that are expected Actual performance• Cost ROI expressed as CPM or CPA, for exampleRecommended:• What tactic was the most successful and why• Other influencers who shared campaign content• Recommendations for next time

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Sample recap reportPublished a total of 17 tweets from July 5-11 during a giveawayTotal impressions: 390,200 Twitter giveaway impressions: 242,800Total giveaway entries: 210

What’s the CPM?CPM = (Cost of 1 Unit of a Media Program) / (Size of Media Program's Audience) x 1,000CPM = $2,000 / 390,200 x 1,000CPM = $5.12

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Tweetreach

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Recommended Wordpress Plug Ins

• Google Analytics Tutorial: http://youtu.be/mm78xlsADgc Discussion: http://www.blogher.com/google-analytics-you• Native WordPress analytics• Intermediate: Select a comment analytics tool• Advanced: AWStats as a backup - AWStats is a server log

analyzer and a good last resort if something goes wrong with Google.

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Preparing to work with brands

• Put your bio, audience targeting and key community metrics in a PPT file, ready to share

• Add a slide profiling a previous, successful campaign as an example

• Sketch out your common community activities and where they fit in the funnel

• Identify your top 3 activities that garner the most engagement in our community

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A few words about contests …

Pay attention to:• Platform• Contest administrator• Prize cost and fulfillment• Terms and Conditions• Indemnification

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Savvy questions you should ask

• Do you view this as an awareness program, or do you want to work with audiences who are farther down the sales funnel?

• Is a contest part of the program? • What’s your list of SEO keywords, so I can optimize my

content?• Are you going to provide me with tagged links?• How frequently do you need metrics reports? What format?• What does success look like to you?• Your contract or mine?