Buddhist art 1

Solis, Miguel Art 160



Transcript of Buddhist art 1

Solis, Miguel

Art 160

Buddhism was introduced to Japan in the mid-sixth century, when Seong of Baekje sent a statue of Buddha to Emporer Kimmei

This is the oldest sculpture of Buddha in Japan, though it has survived many years due to earthquakes and other causes some of the sculpture is damaged.

By :Kuratsukuri-no-Tori

609 AC

Known as the Five Great Buddhas. Are representations of the five qualities of Buddha. They are the primary object of worship meditation in Shingon Buddhism.

Known as the supreme Buddha. Represents the wisdom of emptiness. He is placed at the center of all five Buddhas. The image shows high concentration and tranquility. The flowers and the meditation gives a very peaceful vibe. Vairocana is white representing all colors.

The Dhyani Buddha Akshobhya', Tibetan thangka, late 13th century, Honolulu Museum of Art. Made in the late 13th century.

Akshobhya known as the immovable one, represents consciousness as an aspect of reality. The bright red and dark image give it a very powerful look. Akshobhvya helps you distinguish reality and illusions in your mind.

Also known as infinite light. He is the Buddha in the Pure Land where everyone enjoys endless happiness. Many call upon Amitabha before dying hoping to join him after death.

west side of Borobudur, ca. 1863-1866 By: van Kinsbergen

Represents feeling or sensation and its relationship with consciousness. Develops equality and helps eliminate greed and pride. Normally is colored in yellow or gold, his element is earth and his Buddha field is Śrimat. His emblem is the ratna jewel, symbolizing the Bodhicitta, the highest value of the Buddhist

He known as the Lord of Karma and the Buddha of unfailing accomplishment. His name literally means high success. He is the Buddha of fearlessness and all wisdom. He is normally in green and radiating green light as the color represents peace and tranquility of nature. He helps eliminate envy, anxiety, and fear.