Bhutanese Paintings

download Bhutanese Paintings

of 18

  • date post

  • Category


  • view

  • download


Embed Size (px)



Transcript of Bhutanese Paintings

  • Dimentions:40 x 40 inWith frame:70 x 70 in

  • About the Deity: Kalachakra represents Buddhahood omniscience, omnipotence, and omnipresence. Kalachakra is time and everything is under the influence of time. Therefore, Kalachakra is all and knows all. Kalachakri is his consort. She is aware of everything that is timeless and therefore, not time-bound. They are in union demonstrating temporal and non temporal. Similarly, the wheel is without beginning or end.

    The Mandala: The Kalachakra revolves around the concept of time (Kala) and cycles (chakra). The cycles include the cycles of the planets as the outer manifestation to the cycles of human breathing, an inner manifestation of time. Kalachakra teaches the practice of working with the subtle energies within the human body known as yoga channels and winds.

    Kalachakra and Kalachakri reside in the middle of the mandala. The palace consists of 4 mandalas: body, speech, mind, and wisdom. There are 772 within the complex geometry of the mandala.

    Kalachakra Mandala

  • Dimentions:80 x 80 in

  • Guru Dragpo(Guru Rinpoche Mandala)

    The Mandala: Standing in the middle of the mandala on a lotus, at the center of his palace, is Guru Dragpo. He is erce in appearance, red in color, has three faces and six hands and embraces his consort. He stands surrounded by the brightly burning flames of pristine awareness. His retinue of other enlightened deities sit on pedals of the open lotus encircling the center of the mandala. His syllable Hung simultaneously radiates and permeates space as indestructible rays that dissipate all illusion and confusion.

    About the Deity: Also known as Guru Rinpoche, he has 8 manifestations. As Guru Dragpo, a wrathful form, he is a erce protector of the Buddha's doctrine. He is a destroyer of obstacles on the path to enlightenment and transforms negative conditions into wisdom.

  • Dimentions:80 x 80 in

  • Lagyen Jaro Dong

    The Mandala: It represents the 3-sided palace of Mahakala. The mandala is a T shape representing a ritual dagger that is used to subdue and subsequently enlist negative, uncontrolled forces in a wrathful manner. At the very center, is Mahakala or Lagyen Jaro Dong with his consort, Shri Devi. In this mandala, they are represented with the letter hung which pervades all space with the power to destroy illusion and confusion while simultaneously revealing absolute truth. Mahakala has mastery over all aggression (serpents) and attachment (heads) and is inherently peaceful.

    About the Deity: Mahakala is a protector of Buddhas doctrine and his followers on the path to enlightenment. There are a number of different forms of Mahakala and he is a protector specically of Karma Kagyu, one of the main 4 schools of Buddhism.

    (Mahakala Mandala)

  • Yamantaka Yamantaka is commonly known as the destroyer of the concept of death. He is the wrathful form of the Buddha of Wisdom and has conquered all evil spirits, including the Lord of Death. Yamantaka is the awakening of absolute truth, the full enlightenment that conquers the illusion that death exists.

    Yamantaka is powerful enough to overcome and subdue even the most powerful negative emotions. Visualizing oneself in this highly energetic form is said to help conquer and transform such negative emotions. Like other wrathful deities, Yamantaka gives the forces of the shadow a symbol that hooks their energy and provides a channel and direction for their expression and transformation. He is adorned with a crown of ve white skulls representing "naked" absolute wisdom. The garland of 50 fresh heads represents detachment from a view that a self exists. He stands on top of a buffalo and male corpse which represent ignorance and the ego. He is surrounded by brightly burning orange flames of pristine awareness.

  • Dimentions:81 x 66 in

  • Mahakala Mahakala is a wrathful deity who defends the Dharma from corruption, degeneration and hostile forces. Mahakala guides and protects the individual practitioner away from deception and delusion bestowing the power to overcome life struggles and eliminate obstacles.

    He is adorned with symbolic attributes such as the crown of ve skulls representing the transmutation of the ve negative afflictions of human nature into positive virtues. In his right hand, he holds a chopper, symbolizing the cutting through of negative patterns such as aggression, hatred, and ignorance. His three eyes symbolize his knowledge of the past, present and future. He is seen standing on the corpse of two bodies, symbolizing the death of negativities and the uprooting of negative patterns. The sun-disc on which Mahakala stands denotes his illumination of the darkness of ignorance. The lotus on which this disc rests signies his undeled purity.

  • Dimentions:81 x 66 in

  • Dimentions:80 x 80 in

  • Tsepakmed

    The Mandala: The mandala is surrounded by an outer ring of re in rainbow colors that represent wisdom. The next inner ring is a circle of Vajras that indicate protection from negative thoughts and pristine wisdom. The ring of lotus petals symbolizes the awakening of purity of mind. At the center of the mandala, in the center of his palace, sits Buddha Amitayus, known as the Buddha of Innite Light.

    Surrounding Amitayus are 8 lotus petals representing different deities of his retinue. Outside of the central circle and the 8 lotus petals are again 4 other deities of Amitayus retinue. These 4 deities are represented by the 4 dharma letters.

    About the Deity: Buddha holds a long life vase with the nectar of immortality contained inside. His cross-legged or lotus position denotes pure undisturbed meditative absorption. His hands symbolize pure stability and an undisturbed perfect view of absolute truth.

    (Long Life Buddha Mandala)

  • Dimentions:80 x 80 in

  • Sangay Menla

    The Mandala: In the center is the Medicine Buddha bestowing healing. The Medicine Buddha is surrounded by another ring of 8 lotus petals. 7 healing Buddhas and Buddha Shakyamuni are seated on the inner 8 lotus pedals. Outside the ring of 8 lotus petals are the 16 Bodhisattvas who are seated on the lotus of 16 petals. Outside this ring sit the 10 guardians of the 10 directions, 12 yakshaw generals and the 4 guardian kings of the 4 gates.

    About the Deity: The Medicine Buddha is the Buddha of Healing and it has the power to heal any disease and purify negative karma. Medicine Buddha brings good health, peace, happiness and holds the Begging Bowl containing nectar to heal all diseases in his left hand. In his right hand, he holds the myrobalan flower representing the best and most pure medicine.

    (Medicine Buddha Mandala)

  • Dimentions:80 X 80 in

  • Samantabadra Peaceful and Wrathful Deities

    The Mandala: This mandala has 42 peaceful and 58 wrathful deities. At the center of the mandala, is the Buddha Samantrabadra (male) and Buddha Samantrabadri (female) in union. This is the union of perfect wisdom and perfect compassion as well as inseparability of the illusion world with enlightenment. The other peaceful and wrathful deities are the retinue of Samantrabadra and Samantrabadri. These deities appear between the state of death and rebirth. This "Bardo" is the intermediate state between death and rebirth. This mandala is based on the bardo teachings in Buddhism and the Guhyagarbha Tantra.

    The Deities: Samantabhadra is the primordial Buddha. He is pure omniscience, the essence of enlightenment of all the Buddhas. His consort, Samantabhadri is the female primordial Buddha. Their union represents non-dual wisdom and compassion and that each sentient being has potential for Buddhahood. Samanta means, universally extending. Bhadra means great virtue.