Post on 26-Jun-2015
description
Your Guide to Online Advertising
1. Canadian Online Landscape
2. Formats
3. Buying Exchanges
4. Targeting
5. Paid Search
6. Online Video
7. Paid Social Media
8. Cross-Platform: Devices
9. Google Analytics
10.Real-time Bidding
+33 hrs/month
Cost-per …Huh?
Buying FormatsCost per Thousand Impressions (CPM):
How much you will pay per thousand impressions of your ad.
1,000 = $20
Buying Formats
Cost per Click (CPC):
A CPC is how much you will pay ever time your ad is clicked.
$3 x 100 clicks = $300
Buying Formats
Cost per Engagement (CPE):
A CPE is how much you will pay when a designated engagement occurs.
$8 per roll over x 100 = $800
Buying Formats
Cost per Acquisition (CPA):
A CPA is how much you will pay when a designated action is performed.
$12 per contact x 100 = $1,200
Do I need the middleman?
Direct Publisher Buying
Direct Publisher Buying
• ROS – Run of Site: All categories
• Categorical – Ex: Sports Only
• CPM buying format
• The broader the buy, the less the CPM
• ROS – CPM: $12• Sports Only – CPM: $12 + 25%
premium = %15
EX: “Referendum” – Direct Buy
Niche Network Buying
• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network• CPM Buying format
Mass Network Buying
Mass Network Buying• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network
• ACTION RATES: CPC, CPE, and CPA buying formats • Enough impressions across sites to fulfill clicks• Less targeting capabilities
EX: “Referendum” – CPM Network Banner Ads
Mass Network Buying• ROC – Run of Channel: All sites within specific category
• CPM format• Ex: Financial Channel
• Behavioural Targeting – CPM (slide to follow)
Self-served Platform Buying
• Interactive self-served platform – No human interaction to complete the buy
• CPM, CPC, and CPA formats
• Typically lower rates due to high volume of impression intake/user visit• Ex: Facebook - $0.62 CPM vs. CBC - $15 CPM• CBC – average visit = 6 impressions• Facebook – average visit = 75 impressions
Hey you!
…yeah you.
Geo-targeting
306 area code (IP)
Weather-Triggered Targeting
• Ads shown only under certain weather conditions
• Triggered by:• Temperature• Precipitation• Humidex
• CPM format
Behavioural Targeting
Behavioural Targeting
• CPM – Mass network buying • Ex: RV Ads – RV consumer in Regina • Ads will run on sites indexed high against target
Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer
• But how do they know I’m an “Outdoor Enthusiast?” • Cookies capture user behaviour – algorithm dumps you into categories based on your habits• Ex: RV Trader > Kijiji – Boats > Facebook > Boat Trader > RV Trader > Gmail > Camping.com
Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer
Why think when you can just Google it?
Paid Search• Google Adwords – targeted keywords
Paid
Organic
Benefits to Paid Search
• Reach people at the precise moment they’re searching for what you offer
• ***Control your budget• Self-served platform• CPC most popular format• Pay only when word is searched AND clicked
• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend
• See exactly what words are working or how ad is performing; adjust in real-time
Best Practices to Paid Search
• Target ads to appropriate landing page
• Target ads based on user device and action
EX: “Referendum” – “Vote No” group
Keyword ClicksImpressio
nsvote no 273 1071
sewage referendum 136 1140wastewater 117 1850
regina chamber of commerce 94 852
wastewater treatment 87 778wastewater treatment
plant 84 937treatment of wastewater 66 580
September 25 51 1673regina chamber 29 420
wastewater treatment plants 22 183
August 30th – September 25th
Ex: “Referendum” – “Water Watch” group
Keyword ClicksImpressio
nsregina water watch 190 3400
watch the water 24 575p3 project 17 346
drinking water 13 2088water treatment 12 1727
water watch 10 194privatization of water 9 127
water systems 7 1311p3 model 4 77
watch water 1 239
August 30th – September 25th
How do I get my ad to play before “Keyboard Cat?”
Canada top in video engagement compared to world
390 Videos/mo
nth
Canadian Video Demographic Breakdown
Video Pre-roll
Video Pre-roll
Video Pre-roll• Use to build brand awareness or invoke emotion• 15-second and 30-second
• Budget Benefits • Ad can run through video online while competing with big brands like DODGE or OLD SPICE• Might not have budget to buy TV on TSN
• Direct Buys: TSN, LeaderPost, CTVRegina• Network Buys: Bell (CTV, TSN, BNN, Comedy) Shaw (Discovery, HGTV, Global)• Self-Served Buy: YouTube
YouTube Video Pre-roll (Google)• ***Control your budget• Google Self-served platform• CPM most popular format• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend
• Targeting tools:• Age groups• Day parts (morning, evening, etc.)• Contextual (categories, videos relating to “x”)• Specific videos (Keyboard Cat)• Keywords searched (similar to google adwords)• Category bans (alcohol, gaming, 18+)
I already got the facebook and the twitter – now pay for it?!?
Paid Social Media – Benefits• ***Control your budget• Self-served platforms (Photo + Copy)• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend• CPM or CPC targeting• Extremely cost effective (EX: CPM - $0.45 - $1.09)
• Reach “Socializers” – less intrusive• Targeting tools:• Profile demographics: age, marital status, market (granular – Pilot Butte)• Interests listed somewhere on user profile
EX: Fishing, boats, #Camping
Paid Social Media – Best Practices• Direct “socializers” to environment in which they’re in• EX: Facebook ad > Company Facebook page• Note – it’s still fine to redirect to your company website if
relevant
• Experiment!!!
“Referendum” – Paid Social Media
Gender Age % Impressions % of clickersF 18-24 18.30% 12.84%F 25-34 11.05% 8.11%F 35-44 7.75% 7.33%F 45-54 8.83% 9.20%F 55-64 9.42% 12.47%F 65-100 5.11% 6.81%F Unknown 0.65% 0.62%M 18-24 13.33% 10.92%M 25-34 8.03% 7.69%M 35-44 4.53% 6.81%M 45-54 4.08% 5.82%M 55-64 3.37% 5.67%M 65-100 1.74% 2.70%M Unknown 0.50% 0.42%
Highest % of impressions - ages 18-34
Highest % of clickers – skew
towards femalesAges 18-34 or
55-64
“Referendum” – Paid Facebook ads
Over 4.9 million impressions
servedOver 1,700
clicks
Paid Social Media – LinkedIn • Social media channel to reach influential business people and affluent consumers
• Targeting tools:• Job Function• Education • Seniority• Company Name• Company Size
• Social media ads (Photo + Copy)• Sponsored Updates • Banner Ads & Direct Inbox messaging
Canada’s a smartphone country
Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers
Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers
Mobile Advertising
• Some same rules and basics apply for buying • Targeting• CPM Buying format• Ad formats (banners, video, adwords, social)• Direct, Network, Self-Serve
• Slight rule variations for mobile:• Easier-to-take-in messaging (less sophisticated)• Audience is usually on the go
• Direct users to a mobile-friendly landing page
“Referendum” – Mobile ads
Why have one, when you can have ‘em all?
Cross-Platform Opportunities
Cross-Platform Opportunities
• Work with key partners to develop multi-media and multi-screen experience
• Reach a wider audience in their preferred environment• Read the hard-copy Leader Post newspaper during morning coffee• Check updates on LeaderPost.com throughout the day on your work desktop (yes when you SHOULD be working)• Check out a breaking news notification sent to your mobile phone just before supper
Device Preferences throughout the Day
Regina Chamber of Commerce – Referendum Online Recap:• Banner ads:• Direct, Self-Served, Network
• Paid Facebook ads
• Paid Search – Google Adwords
• Mobile Ads
TOTAL CLICKS:
8,668TOTAL IMPRESSIONS:
8,151,908
Google Analytics – Overview - Dashboard
Demographics
System
Mobile
Language
New vs. ReturnVisits, Unique Visitors, Page Views,
Pages/visit
Avg. Visit Duration, Bounce Rate, % New Visits
Google Analytics – Other insights
• IT’S FREE! EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE THIS!• (or a version of analytics to gauge your campaigns)
•Traffic sources:• Paid online referrals• Search – Paid vs. Organic • Direct traffic
Google Analytics – Trifon’s Example
Device % change – YOY: 2012 vs. 2013
Desktop +45.46%
Mobile +309.05%
Tablet +286.25%
TOTAL: +31.53%
Highest spikes on Fridays, followed by Saturdays
Real-time Bidding
RTB – Supply Side Platform (SSP):
Banner Ads
RTB Exchange
Room
Sell!Sell!Sell!
Video Ads
Mobile Ads
RTB – Demand Side Platform (DSP):
RTB Exchange
RoomRegina
Males: 50-55
RV Intender
CPM - $5 max!!!
Village RV
Buy!Buy!Buy!
RTB – Exchange Success
Sold! To the RV guy for $3.01 CPM! Sorry Dove, your
max $3 CPM didn’t cut it.
Real-time Bidding - Benefits:
• data driven decisions
• smaller budgets can compete
• reduced media wastage
• Better targeting capabilities – accommodates moving targets
Ex: RTB sees Joe is looking for a job Hit Joe with “Jobs” ads
Once Joe gets hired, RTB sees he’s no longer a “job seeker”
Move on to next guy!
Digital Media Inspired Halloween Costumes: